Digital booklet:  View · Download

Six English Suites - Johann Sebastian Bach

Judith Lambden performs Bach's English Suites on piano.

The English Suites were probably written during Bach’s years as Kappellmeister in Cöthen, or even as early as 1715 while he was still in Weimar – certainly well before the six French Suites and the six Partitas. It was customary to write Suites in sets of six. The original manuscript had been lost, but a copy was in the possession of Bach’s youngest son, Johann Christian Bach, then living in England. The title page included the inscription 'Faites pour les Anglois'.

Aided by an ability to play a substantial number of Bach’s keyboard works and other repertoire from memory, Judith has given many recitals in England, where she lived for 23 years, and throughout Europe.

Judith Lambden studied under some of the great pianists and pedagogues of our times, including Kendall Taylor, Lamar Crowson, Nadia Boulanger and Paul Badura-Skoda. Later she was awarded a grant by the Dutch Government for one year of study with Gustav Leonhardt in Amsterdam.


Judith Lambden

Judith was born in Creswick, Victoria in Australia, She graduated from the Melbourne University Conservatorium with a B.Mus(Hons) degree. While still in Melbourne for a further seven years, her teachers were Gordon McKeown for piano and John Ingram for theory and composition. She won many prizes and made national broadcast performances for ABC radio.

Audio previews

Track Listing

    English Suite, No. 1 in A major, BWV 806 Johann Sebastian Bach

  1. Prelude 2:34
  2. Allemande 4:43
  3. Courante I 2:19
  4. Courante II 2:28
  5. Double I 1:44
  6. Double II 1:47
  7. Sarabande 5:06
  8. Bourrée I 2:23
  9. Bourrée II 2:51
  10. Gigue 2:40
  11. English Suite, No. 2 in A minor, BWV 807 Johann Sebastian Bach

  12. Prelude 5:34
  13. Allamande 3:44
  14. Courante 2:28
  15. Sarabande 4:08
  16. Bourrée I 2:27
  17. Boureée II 2:39
  18. Gigue 3:38
  19. English Suite, No. 3 in G minor, BWV 808 Johann Sebastian Bach

  20. Prelude 3:36
  21. Allemande 3:41
  22. Courante 2:45
  23. Sarabande 4:29
  24. Gavotte I 1:48
  25. Gavotte II 1:50
  26. Gigue 2:46

Disc 2

    English Suite, No. 4 in F major, BWV 809 Johann Sebastian Bach

  1. Prelude 5:56
  2. Allemande 3:50
  3. Courante 1:54
  4. Sarabande 3:48
  5. Menuet I 1:30
  6. Menuet II 2:12
  7. Gigue 3:23
  8. English Suite, No. 5 in E minor, BWV 810 Johann Sebastian Bach

  9. Prelude 5:42
  10. Allemande 4:15
  11. Courante 3:00
  12. Sarabande 3:09
  13. Passepied I 1:20
  14. Passepied II 2:13
  15. Gigue 2:54
  16. English Suite, No. 6 in D minor, BWV 811 Johann Sebastian Bach

  17. Prelude 8:51
  18. Allemande 4:01
  19. Courante 2:57
  20. Sarabande 3:30
  21. Gavotte I 2:35
  22. Gavotte II 4:12
  23. Gigue 3:12



Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Where to buy

Six English Suites - Johann Sebastian Bach is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Six English Suites - Johann Sebastian Bach is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
148 minutes 32 seconds
Release date
August 2011
© 2011 Judith Lambden
℗ 2011 Move Records
Classical, Keyboard
Catalogue number
MCD 455
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574045529