Anna Magdalena Bach's Book

This very special disc from Australia's best known harpsichord virtuoso, Elizabeth Anderson, and her son, boy soprano, Jacob Lawrence features the much loved Anna Magdalena notebook including many well known tracks such as the timeless 'Bist du bei mir'.

Also featured is the aria that forms the theme of the Goldberg variations.

Anna Magdalena Bach was the second wife of Johann Sebastian Bach. Recent research has indicated Anna Magdalena Bach, was not only the second highest paid professional musician at the Cothen Court behind her husband Johann, but was also a fine composer.

There is strong evidence to suggest that she herself may have been the author of several of the works contained within this book, including the aria on which the Goldberg variations are based, and the famous C major prelude later used by Gounod as the basis of his famous 'Ave Maria'.

The tuning system used in this recording follows the diagram left by Bach himself on the cover of the on the title page of his Well-Tempered Clavier (1722). This fine CD is sure to appeal to all lovers of fine music, not just early music enthusiasts.


Elizabeth Anderson

Elizabeth Anderson has performed in no less than eleven international concert tours to Europe, Japan and Singapore. She is a regular guest lecturer and performer at universities and music schools throughout Australia.

Press quotes

“...this transcendental music is performed with outstanding expertise and expressiveness...”

New Classics, UK

“As Lawrence's experience continues to expand, he will develop an even greater sense of line and rhtymic flow ... this mixture of harpsichord, organ and vocal music makes for pleasnat listening.”

— Tony Way, The Age - Green Guide

“Anderson's keyboard virtuosity, as soloist and sympathetic accompanist, shines...”

— Bob Crimeen, Sunday Herald Sun

“It takes a musician of high order, such as Elizabeth Anderson (in superb form) to reveal the magic enshrined in these deceptively easy minatures and her every contribution provides unalloyed listening delight”

— Neville Cohn, Oz Arts Review

Audio previews

Track Listing

  1. Bist du bei mir BWV 508 Anna Magdalena Bach 2:32
  2. Menuet in a minor BWV 120 Anna Magdalena Bach :37
  3. Prelude in C major BWV 846 Anna Magdalena Bach 2:59
  4. Menuet in c minor BWV 121 Anna Magdalena Bach :38
  5. Schaff's mit mir BWV 514 Anna Magdalena Bach :57
  6. French Suite No.2 in minor BWV 813 Anna Magdalena Bach

  7. Allemande 1:48
  8. Courante 1:36
  9. Sarabande 1:51
  10. Gedenke doch, mein Geist, zurücke BWV 509 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:14
  11. Marche in Eb major BWV Anh. 127 Anna Magdalena Bach :45
  12. Dir, Dir Jehova BWV 299 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:49
  13. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten BWV 691 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:31
  14. Les Bergeries BWV Anh. 183 Anna Magdalena Bach 3:56
  15. Aria di Giovannini: Willst du dein Herz mir schenken BWV 518 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:44
  16. Solo per il Cembalo Wq. 65/7 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:31
  17. J.S.B. Gib dich zu frieden BWV 511/512 Anna Magdalena Bach :54
  18. Polonoise in g minor BWV Anh. 123 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:06
  19. Menuets in G BWV Anh. 115 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:32
  20. Menuet in G major BWV Anh. 116 Anna Magdalena Bach :50
  21. Aria from the Goldberg Variations BWV 988 Anna Magdalena Bach 2:19
  22. Aria: Warum betrübst du dich BWV 516 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:23
  23. Wie wohl ist mir, o Freund der Seelen BWV 517 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:31
  24. French Suite No. 1 in d minor BWV 812 Anna Magdalena Bach

  25. Allemande 2:09
  26. Courante 1:49
  27. Sarabande 1:18
  28. Menuet 1re :50
  29. Menuet 2de 1:38
  30. Gigue 1:25
  31. Polonaise in d minor BWV Anh. 128 Anna Magdalena Bach :40
  32. Musette in D major BWV Anh. 126 Anna Magdalena Bach :36
  33. Menuet in d minor BWV Anh. 132 Anna Magdalena Bach :44
  34. March in D major BWV Anh. 122 Anna Magdalena Bach :32
  35. Menuet in g minor BWV Anh. 118 Anna Magdalena Bach :44
  36. Poloneise in g minor BWV Anh. 119 Anna Magdalena Bach :32
  37. March in G major BWV Anh. 124 Anna Magdalena Bach :37
  38. Polonoise in g minor BWV Anh. 125 Anna Magdalena Bach :55
  39. So oft ich meine Tobackspfeife BWV 515 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:00
  40. Menuet fait par Mons. Böhm Anna Magdalena Bach :46
  41. Polonaise BWV Anh. 130 Anna Magdalena Bach :56
  42. Partita No. 3 in a minor BWV 827 Anna Magdalena Bach

  43. Prelude (later titled Fantasia) 2:36
  44. Allemande 1:46
  45. Corrente 1:58
  46. Sarabande 1:28
  47. Menuet (later titled Burlesca) 1:18
  48. Gigue 1:37
  49. Gib dich zu frieden BWV 510 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:01
  50. O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort BWV 513 Anna Magdalena Bach 1:13
  51. Polonoise in F major BWV Anh. 117 Anna Magdalena Bach :44
  52. Menuet in F major BWV Anh. 114 Anna Magdalena Bach :45
  53. Piece in F major BWV Anh. 131 Anna Magdalena Bach :45
  54. Recit: Ich habe genug BWV 82, 2 Anna Magdalena Bach :56
  55. Aria: Schlummert ein BWV 82, 3 Anna Magdalena Bach 6:21


Where to buy

Anna Magdalena Bach's Book can be purchased online through Buywell Just Classical or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

This title is also available in (or can be ordered through) many fine music retailers across Australia, including Thomas’ and Readings.

Product details

Recorded at the Move Records Studio, Melbourne Australia.

(all except tracks 1, 5, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 21, 22, 37, 46, 47, 51 and 52)

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
74 minutes 42 seconds
John Franklin
Martin Wright
Vaughan McAlley
Vaughan McAlley
Martin Wright
Australian Catholic University (tracks 1, 5, 9, 11, 14, 16, 21, 22, 37, 47, 51 and 52)
Move Records Studio (all except tracks 1, 5, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 21, 22, 37, 46, 47, 51 and 52)
The Scots' Church Melbourne (tracks 12 and 46)
Thanks to
Australian Catholic University
Release date
© 2006 Move Records
℗ 2006 Move Records
Baroque, Classical, Keyboard, Vocal
Catalogue number
MD 3304
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574330427