Digital booklet:  View · Download


Calvin Bowman presents an expert reading of J.S Bach's 'Little Organ Book' - a microcosm of Bach's compositional and improvisational genius.

Calvin Bowman exhibits a self-confessed passion for the music of J.S.Bach, and it shows in this performance of the 'Little Organ Book' played on the Ahrend organ, Robert Blackwood Hall, Melbourne.

This mature reading of Bach's work is the first step toward his goal to record the complete organ and harpsichord works of J.S. Bach.

The 'Orgelbüchlein' is a record - suspended for all time - of Bach's inspired improvisations of existing hymn tunes. These written down improvisations provide insight into Bach's brilliance both as composer and performer. In this microcosm of imaginative improvisation, the Baroque master expresses a richness of invention and symbolism rarely seen in earlier works.

Complete with German and English text, and organ registrations this MOVE release serves as an inviting introduction for performer and listener alike, to the genius of Bach's organ works.

46 chorales on 2 CDs!


Calvin Bowman

Calvin Bowman is acknowledged to be one of Australia's finest young musicians. He is well known as an outstanding musician who strives to attain nothing less than perfection.

Press quotes

“This collection of 46 chorale preludes – small-scale works and very accessible – is an excellent introduction to the genius of Bach's large organ works. Bowman gives readings that combine restraint and authority.”

— Barney Zwartz, The Age

“Calvin Bowman is acknowledged as one of Australia's finest young musicians. As well as being an outstanding organist, he is also respected as a harpsichordist and accompanist producing masterly interpretations that would do credit to a performer twice or three times his age.”

— Clive O'Connell, The Age

“Bowman's enthusiasm and commitment to Bach's keyboard music is obvious in this performance”

New Classics, UK

“delicious, quiet miniatures, demonstrating Bach's propensity for the reflective and intensely beautiful. Bowman shows mastery of the organ and a great love for these seductive masterpieces.”

The Melburnian

“should be in every organist's library.”

— Bruce Steele, Organo Pleno

“The recording and digital editing are excellent as is the whole presentation. The set is recommended”

— Paul Maloney, Australian Music Teacher Magazine

Audio previews

Track Listing

  1. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 599 Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Gott, durch deine Güte, or Gottes Sohn ist kommen, BWV 600 Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Herr Christ, der ein'ge Gottes-Sohn, or Herr Gott, nun sei gepreist, BWV 601 Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Lob sei dem allmächtigen Gott, BWV 602 Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Puer natus in Bethlehem, BWV 603 Johann Sebastian Bach
  6. Gelobet seist du, Jesus Christ, BWV 604 Johann Sebastian Bach
  7. Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605 Johann Sebastian Bach
  8. Von Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 606 Johann Sebastian Bach
  9. Von Himmel kam der Engel Schaar, BWV 607 Johann Sebastian Bach
  10. In dulci jubilo, BWV 607 Johann Sebastian Bach
  11. Lobt Gott, ihr Christen allzugleich, BWV 609 Johann Sebastian Bach
  12. Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 610 Johann Sebastian Bach
  13. Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 611 Johann Sebastian Bach
  14. Wir Christenheit', BWV 612 Johann Sebastian Bach
  15. Helft mir Gottes Güte preisen, BWV 613 Johann Sebastian Bach
  16. Das alte Jahr vergangen ist, BWV 614 Johann Sebastian Bach
  17. In dir ist Freude, BWV 615 Johann Sebastian Bach
  18. Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin, BWV 616 Johann Sebastian Bach
  19. Herr Gott, nun schleuss den Himmel auf, BWV 617 Johann Sebastian Bach
  20. O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 618 Johann Sebastian Bach
  21. Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 619 Johann Sebastian Bach
  22. Christus, der uns selig macht, BWV 620 Johann Sebastian Bach
  23. Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund, BWV 621 Johann Sebastian Bach
  24. O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde gross, BWV 622 Johann Sebastian Bach

Disc 2

  1. Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 623 Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Hilf, Gott, dass mirs gelinge, BWV 624 Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 625 Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 626 Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Christ ist erstanden, BWV 627 Johann Sebastian Bach
  6. Erstanden ist der heilige Christ, BWV 628 Johann Sebastian Bach
  7. Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag, BWV 629 Johann Sebastian Bach
  8. Heut triumphiret Gottes Sohn, BWV 630 Johann Sebastian Bach
  9. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist, BWV 631 Johann Sebastian Bach
  10. Herr Jesus Christ, dich zu uns wend, BWV 632 Johann Sebastian Bach
  11. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 633 Johann Sebastian Bach
  12. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 634 Johann Sebastian Bach
  13. Dies sind die heil'gen zehn Gebot, BWV 635 Johann Sebastian Bach
  14. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 636 Johann Sebastian Bach
  15. Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt, BWV 637 Johann Sebastian Bach
  16. Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, BWV 638 Johann Sebastian Bach
  17. Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesus Christ, BWV 639 Johann Sebastian Bach
  18. In dich hab' ich gehoffet, Herr, BWV 640 Johann Sebastian Bach
  19. Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein, BWV 641 Johann Sebastian Bach
  20. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 642 Johann Sebastian Bach
  21. Alle Menschen müssen sterben, BWV 643 Johann Sebastian Bach
  22. Ach wie flüchtig, ach wie nichtig, BWV 644 Johann Sebastian Bach



Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Where to buy

Orgelbüchlein is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Orgelbüchlein is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
John O'Donnell
Martin Wright
Vaughan McAlley
Release date
© 1995 Move Records
℗ 1995 Move Records
Baroque, Classical, Organ
Catalogue number
MD 3162
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574316223