Digital booklet:  View · Download

Buxtehude at the Harpsichord

Acclaimed harpsichordist Jacqueline Ogeil performs a selection of rarely heard Buxtehude harpsichord pieces. Most of Buxtehude's harpsichord works were only found in the 20th century. They are light and entertaining pieces of a secular nature.

Buxtehude, the composers' composer!

J.S. Bach walked 200 miles to hear him play and nearly lost his job, Handel in his usual manner 'borrowed' the opening theme from his 'Prelude in G' to use as the theme in "And he shall purify" from the 'Messiah'; Brahms, Pachelbel, Bruhns and Mattheson were all inspired by him. His fame was widespread even in his day and he is frequently referred to as the most significant organ composer before Bach.

In 1739, Mattheson bemoaned the fact that while Buxtehude was well known for his organ works his keyboard works were never published, despite being of a high order.

Acclaimed harpsichordist Jacqueline Ogeil has put together a CD of Buxtehude's harpsichord works, most of which were only found as recently as the middle of the twentieth century. Written in the popular idioms of the Baroque period, the gigue, the suite, aria and variations, they are light and entertaining works of a secular nature.

Despite Buxtehude's fame, the painting on the front cover of the CD, Johannes Voorhout's Domestic Music Scene Hamburg 1674 is the only known painting in which he is represented. Buxtehude is seated second from the right with the music from one of his cantatas on his lap. Jacqueline Ogeil, believing it is important for the listener to be introduced to the context of the music through a historical image, finally secured permission to use this painting after six months of negotiation with the museum in Hamburg.

Jacqueline Ogeil's harpsichord is a copy, by Marc Nobel (Melbourne 1988), of a 17th century Flemish instrument by Jean Couchet. Its pitch is A=415, and for this recording it is tuned in a well-tempered system such as was used by Buxtehude in his later years.


Jacqueline Ogeil

After extensive study overseas, Jacqueline Ogeil has performed in the Melbourne International Festival of Organ and Harpsichord, as well as the Melbourne Fringe, Castlemaine, Port Fairy and Collins Street Festivals. She has recorded for the ABC and 3MBS, was a semi-finalist for the Young Achiever of the Year awards and is a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Silver Jubilee Trust award.

Press quotes


Sydney Morning Herald

“High orders of achievement in the music and in the playing and recording inovlved in this disc earn it unqualified recommendation.”

Sydney Morning Herald

“Confirms her status as a truly world-class harpsichordist”


“So this disc can be doubly welcomed firstly as filling a gap in our knowledge of pre-Bach keyboard music and secondly for Jacqueline Ogeil's brilliant performances.”

The Canberra Times

Audio preview

Track Listing

  1. Praeludium in G minor, BuxWV 163 Dietrich Buxtehude
  2. Suite in D minor, BuxWV 233 Dietrich Buxtehude

  3. Allemande d'Amour
  4. Courante
  5. Sarabande d'Amour
  6. Sarabande
  7. Gigue
  8. Canzona in C, BuxWV 166 Dietrich Buxtehude
  9. Canzonetta in E minor, BuxWV 169 Dietrich Buxtehude
  10. Suite in G minor, BuxWV 241 Dietrich Buxtehude

  11. Allemande
  12. Courante
  13. Sarabande
  14. Gigue
  15. Aria: More Palatino, BuxWV 247 Dietrich Buxtehude
  16. Toccata in G, BuxWV 164 Dietrich Buxtehude
  17. Suite in E minor, BuxWV 237 Dietrich Buxtehude

  18. Allemande
  19. Courante
  20. Sarabande
  21. Gigue
  22. Canzona in D minor, BuxWV 217 Dietrich Buxtehude
  23. Suite in C Major, BuxWV 230 Dietrich Buxtehude

  24. Allemande
  25. Courante
  26. Sarabande
  27. Gigue
  28. Aria: Rofilis, BuxWV 248 Dietrich Buxtehude
  29. Fuga in C, BuxWV 174 Dietrich Buxtehude



Dietrich Buxtehude

Dieterich Buxtehude was a German-Danish organist and composer of the Baroque period. His organ works represent a central part of the standard organ repertoire and are frequently performed at recitals and in church services.

Where to buy

Buxtehude at the Harpsichord is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Buxtehude at the Harpsichord is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
John O'Donnell
Martin Wright
Vaughan McAlley
Release date
© 1997 Move Records
℗ 1997 Move Records
Baroque, Keyboard
Catalogue number
MD 3191
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574319125