Digital booklet:  View · Download

The Lord of the Rings, Volume 3

This is the third volume of jazz composer John Sangster's classic epic musical interpretation of J.R.R. Tolkien's 'The Lord of the Rings'. Originally a double-LP set issued by EMI over 25 years ago it has never been available on CD until now.

Not to be confused with Howard Shore's music to the award-winning films, this trilogy is wholly Australian and was released on three double-LP sets by EMI over 25 years ago, long deleted and remaining unavailable for many years.

The series remains a highly ambitious and epic production. Musical styles range from Sangster's distinctive form of trad and modern jazz, to film-like music interpreting characters and events from Tolkien's trilogy. There's something on this special double CD for everyone. Plus there's extras galore for collectors including the original LP artwork (computer PDF files), four live performances in MP3 format, and another long interview with Sangster made a year before he died in 1995.

The bonus material on Volumes 2 and 3 is particularly rich, including recorded interviews with musicians who played on the albums, recounting their experience of the Lord of the Rings sessions. Also included are also two lengthy interviews with John Sangster himself. This precious oral testimony provides not only an essential context for appreciating Sangster as a musician, but reveals something of the lighthearted and unassuming spirit of the man behind the music, a spirit that infuses that music with its own individual quality.

So... having read the book, visited the Ring website, and seen the film trilogy, you can now hear the jazz music: an essential album for any Australian jazz or indeed Tolkien fan.


John Sangster

John Sangster was one of the most talented Australian jazz musicians of all time, a technician and creator who embraced and understood more styles of music than any other.

Press quotes

“... the idea of painting musical pictures of strange characters was irresistible to Len Barnard, Bob Barnard, Graeme Lyall and a cast of thousands ... on comes a warm ballad like 'Arwen's Regret' which has Don Burrows playing as soulful a baritone as we've ever heard.”

— Gil Wahlquist, Sydney Morning Herald

“Like any great opera, Sangster's trilogy must be heard in its totality in order for the evolution of his vision to be fully appreciated. The albums become more complex and their instrumentation more subtle as they progress, gradually creating their own 'secondary world' of musical reference. A delight to listen to.”

— Chris Seeman, The Tolkien Music List

“The re-mastering is of the usual superb quality we have come to expect from Move and the added bonus tracks, interviews, etc round out a brilliant product.”

— Roger Carpenter, Radio KLFM

“Move's remastering of the original material makes the music sound as though it was recorded yesterday! The playing of the John Sangster Quartet bonus tracks, dating from 1989 is absolutely splendid”

— John Barns, 3MBS FM Libretto

Audio previews

Track Listing

  1. Ring Bearer John Sangster 5:58
  2. Frodo's Fantasy John Sangster 5:13
  3. The Balrog John Sangster 8:31
  4. Olipaunts John Sangster 4:26
  5. Rivendell Rort John Sangster 4:07
  6. Arwen's Regret John Sangster 4:38
  7. Lullaby in Lorien John Sangster 7:35
  8. Proper Fourteen-Twenty John Sangster 3:40
  9. Hairy Foolish Soft-Shoeless Feet John Sangster 4:25
  10. The Uruk-Hai John Sangster 7:16
  11. Three is Company John Sangster 5:55
  12. Eleventy-One Today John Sangster 3:43
  13. Merry-Go-Round John Sangster 4:35
  14. Hoblyti-Hoblyta John Sangster 4:41

Disc 2

  1. Ithildin John Sangster 4:38
  2. V-M-E Day (a mondorian phantasmagoria) John Sangster 6:14
  3. The Sweetness and Light Rag John Sangster 3:31
  4. Celeborn Celbrant John Sangster 4:41

Where to buy

The Lord of the Rings, Volume 3 is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Spotify and Apple Music.

The Lord of the Rings, Volume 3 is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
93 minutes 47 seconds
Release date
© 1978 John Sangster
℗ 2005 Move Records
Australian, Jazz
Catalogue number
MD 3253
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574325324