Digital booklet:  View · Download


William Bower, performs music for solo lute by composers Lauffensteiner, Weiss, Mesangeau and Gallot.

Lute-player William Bower has achieved a substantial reputation in Australia both as a performer and as a teacher. This recording was produced to feature original lute works, nearly all of which were not previously recorded at the time this recording was made in 1977.

A feature of William Bower’s playing is that his technique and interpretation is based on accurate historical studies extending over twenty years. Each piece is played with the correct type of lute for which it was written. Three lutes were used, all made in Australia, each of which is an authentic replica of an historical instrument:

- A 7-course Renaissance lute
- A 10-course lute for 17th century French music
- A 13 course Baroque Lute


Track Listing

  1. Prelude Wolft Jacob Lauffensteiner 1:36
  2. Allemande Wolft Jacob Lauffensteiner 3:46
  3. L'Infidele Silvio Leopold Weiss

  4. Entree 3:31
  5. Courante 2:34
  6. Sarabande 3:02
  7. Minuet 2:16
  8. Musette 3:12
  9. Paysane 2:24
  10. Prelude Rene Mesangeau 1:24
  11. Sarabande 1 Rene Mesangeau :56
  12. Sarabande 2 Rene Mesangeau 1:06
  13. Courante 1 Rene Mesangeau 1:19
  14. Courante 2 Rene Mesangeau :56
  15. Ailemane Rene Mesangeau 2:48
  16. Bransle de Mets Rene Mesangeau :58
  17. Tu es enrusme Compere Rene Mesangeau 1:36
  18. Sarabande 3 Rene Mesangeau :51
  19. Sarabande la divine Jacques de Gallot 2:02
  20. Gavotte la dauphine Jacques de Gallot 1:27
  21. Courante Tombeau de Made Jacques de Gallot 2:29
  22. Courante L'Eternelle Jacques de Gallot 1:42


Where to buy

L'Infidèlé is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

L'Infidèlé is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$20.00 AUD
Total playing time
41 minutes 55 seconds
Release date
© 1980 Move Records
℗ 1980 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3057
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574305722