Move 35

Move Records has at last assembled a new sampler CD - MOVE 35 - with one track from every CD issued since Critics' Choice. In this case, that's over four years of music crammed onto 53 tracks and two CDs!

As is Move's specialty, these CDs feature only the finest in local musicians and composers. Witness leading performers such as Ronald Farren-Price, Ian Holtham and Stephen McIntyre (piano), Tony Gould (jazz piano), Douglas Lawrence and Sergio de Pieri (pipe organ), Owen Thomson and Rosario De Marco (guitar), Miwako Abe (violin), Genevieve Lacey (recorder), Miriam Morris (viola da gamba) and Ian King (tuba), plus ensembles such as The Ormond College Choir, La Compania, La Romanesca, Woof! Percussion ensemble and the Elysium Ensemble. Don't forget Australian composers too, including the venerable George Dreyfus (Melbourne) as well as Linda Kouvaras (Melbourne), Ron Nagorcka (Launceston), Becky Llewellyn (Adelaide), Ros Bandt (Melbourne) and the late jazz composer John Sangster (Queensland).

There is no obligation whatsoever to make any further purchases beyond the sampler itself, but if you choose to do so, any purchase using the special order form enclosed in the sampler package will be at the significantly reduced rate of just $22 per CD, POST-FREE anywhere in Australia.

Note: You must use the special order form to take advantage of the offer which must be redeemed through direct mail order, not via the internet or through shops.

Press quote

“remarkable in promoting not just the diversity of Move's catalogue but in celebrating the quality and breadth of music making in this country ... Move Records are more than justified in their celebrations.”

— Patrick Miller, Friends of the Grainger Museum 'In a Nutshell'

Track Listing

  1. Sixteen Tons
  2. El Balenton de los Zielos
  3. Melodies Passageres, Op. 27 Un Cygne
  4. Guitar Sonata Op. 61 Opening
  5. Occhi ce sete di voi pomposi
  6. Chominciamento di gioia
  7. Got a Date with an Angel
  8. Song without Words, Op. 30 No. 3 in E major
  9. Let us Garlands Bring, Op. 18 O Mistress Mine
  10. Malagueña
  11. (They'll be bluebirds over) The White Cliffs of Dover
  12. Petrarch Sonnet No. 4 Canzoniere: Benedetto sia 'I giorno'
  13. Trio Sonata
  14. Sonate d'intavoltura per organo e cimbalo
  15. Viola da Gamba Sonata in G minor, Op. 1 no. 6 Sarabande
  16. Litanies
  17. Fugue in G Minor, BWV 578
  18. Sonata No. 14 in C♯ minor, Op. 27 no. 2 Allegretto
  19. Life
  20. Morceaux de Lecture
  21. Ah! How sweet it is to Love
  22. Wedding Divertissement Passapied
  23. Berceuse, Op. 57
  24. Sonata in A minor, K. 310 Presto
  25. Abendlied Three Motets, Op. 38
  26. Carillon Sortie
  27. Poissons d'or Images (Book 2)
  28. Carillon de Westminster (finale)

Disc 2

  1. Message from the Past
  2. A Waltz
  3. Mirror of the Sky / Sea
  4. Dune
  5. Paean
  6. In C (excerpt)
  7. Lament Hope
  8. Goodbye Michel (excerpt)
  9. Concerto for Marimba and Small Orchestra 2nd movement
  10. Eastern Intermezzo
  11. Home Amongst the Gum Trees
  12. We Lose Things
  13. Mood from Lake Mungo
  14. between home and heaven part III
  15. Tender Mercies (excerpt)
  16. Scrub Up
  17. Letters from Armidale Rain
  18. Giants in the Land (excerpt)
  19. Serenades
  20. Have you met Miss Jones?
  21. Remembering Mirrabooka
  22. Berceuse (excerpt)
  23. Three St. Kilda Sketches II
  24. Sam the Man, from Lord of the Rings Vol. 1
  25. Sonatina Rondo

Where to buy

Move 35 is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$10.00 AUD
Release date
© 2003 Move Records
℗ 2003 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3250
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574325027