Digital booklet:  View · Download

Return to the Dance

Guitarist-composer Michelle Nelson has created a new album of guitar works inspired by the traditional association between guitars and dance, from reflections of the Spanish 17th Century guitar style, through to 1970s Rock and on to the current EDM influence.

Includes the award-winning The Guitarist’s Bach, a homage to JS Bach in the style of his Lute suites, created for the modern EADGBE guitar.

"Guitars and dance go together like two sides of a coin; from the Spanish guitarists of old to the Rock era and on to the Pop world of the 21st Century. As a guitarist I have innately understood this connection. As a composer I have often mused on how modern art-music strayed so far from mainstream taste during the 20th Century. Perhaps the best way for it to re-connect in the new digital world is by a return to the dance." - Michelle Nelson


Michelle Nelson

Michelle Nelson is a composer, guitarist and creative educator committed to developing instrumental works that are contemporary but also draw inspiration from traditional composition practice.

Press quote

“This is a short (41 minutes) disc consisting of some homages, pastiches, imitations, take-offs – apply whichever term you like – and several original compositions. Melbourne guitarist Michelle Nelson has constructed and recorded a set of six works (well, five: the first and last tracks employ the same material in different guises) that are intended to link the old and the new as well as bring art-music back into the popular domain...Yes, you found plenty of easy listening in this album, which is at its most appealing in the Ice Crystals tracks.”

Read full review

— Clive O'Connell, O'Connell the Music

Audio previews

Track Listing

    Return to the Dance Michelle Nelson

  1. I Danza 2:44
  2. II Minuet 1:45
  3. III Return 1:43
  4. The Guitarist's Bach: 'Hommage à J.S. Bach' Michelle Nelson

  5. I Prelude 3:06
  6. II Courante 1:42
  7. III Sarabande 1:48
  8. IV Bouree 1:04
  9. V Gigue 2:01
  10. Ice Crystals Michelle Nelson

  11. I 2:01
  12. II 1:33
  13. III 2:39
  14. IV 1:54
  15. V 2:43
  16. Platypus Rag Michelle Nelson 1:48
  17. Dances for the New World Michelle Nelson

  18. New Volta 2:39
  19. Rock 'n Rolan: Hommage à Marc Bolan 2:03
  20. Mirage Michelle Nelson 3:02
  21. Return to the Dance IV Michelle Nelson 4:38


Where to buy

Return to the Dance is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Return to the Dance is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
40 minutes 53 seconds
Release date
December 2015
© 2015 Michelle Nelson
℗ 2015 Move Records
Catalogue number
MCD 531
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574053128