Academy of Melbourne

The Academy of Melbourne is a small chamber orchestra formed in 1989 by its artistic director, Brett Kelly, MSO principal trombone.

It boasts within its ranks many of Australia's finest musicians and offers a highly successful annual concert series in the acoustically pleasing Hawthorn Town Hall.

Academy of Melbourne is featured on the following titles

David Joseph Selected Works, Volume 2

The second volume in this series features performances from the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, The Academy of Melbourne, and pianist, Michael Kieran Harvey


Academy of Melbourne also appears on

Classical Allusion

Julian Yu takes famous pieces from the Western musical tradition and ornaments them in the manner of Chinese folk music.

Performer: Orchestra

Sun Fun and other Disappointments: The music of Michael Easton

This compilation CD brings together the wide range of British/Australian composer Michael Easton’s compositional output (1981-1993) - ranging from solo piano and duo pianos to a flute sonata, a piccolo concerto, song cycles, and four songs from Easton’s one-woman show ‘Dorothy Parker Says’.

Performer: ensemble