Siebe Pogson

Siebe Pogson is a multi-instrumentalist and composer and leader of the group Funk Engine.

Siebe was born in 1992 and grew up in Putney, Sydney, working as a piano teacher, accompanist, composer/arranger and a bass player. As a multi-instrumentalist, Siebe has been taught by many respected Sydney musicians/composers including Kevin Hunt, Saul Richardson, Gerard Willems and Steve Hunter. He has also studied under bass innovator Victor Wooten and bass pedagogist/educator Anthony Wellington.

Siebe began his composing career in 2013 when he started his jazz-funk band Funk Engine. With Funk Engine, he has recorded and released three albums of original compositions the first two under the guidance of world music legend Llew Kiek.

He is also an active composer for baroque-jazz fusion group Elysian Fields, Australia’s only electric Viola da Gamba ensemble. His composition Dark Dreaming has been featured on the ABC music show and a second original The Tragedy has been recorded and will be released on Elysian Fields 2020 album.

Some of the other bands he plays with include the Soul Messengers, The Domestics and Vanquished Kingdom. Siebe has been featured twice in Cut Common being described as “one of the most multi-talented young musicians on the scene.

Performing as Elysian Fields

Elysian Fields, Australia’s only electric viola da gamba ensemble, was formed by Jenny Eriksson, Matt Keegan and Matt McMahon in 2015. The band is an ongoing experiment in creating new improvised and composed repertoire for the electric viola da gamba – of which Eriksson is believed to be the only Australian exponent.


FIKA is the latest recording from crossover ensemble Elysian Fields: beautiful music that plays and sings to the gathering of friends with food and fine conversation!

Performer: Bass

What should I say

Elysian Fields is Australia’s only electric viola da gamba band, heralding the creation of a new and unique musical voice. Elysian Fields is the brainchild of viola da gambist, Jenny Eriksson, and leading jazz musicians, Matt Keegan, saxophones, and Matt McMahon, piano.

Performer: Bass

Performing as Funk Engine

Sydney-based jazz-funk group Funk Engine was formed in 2013 by Sydney Conservatorium jazz graduates led by bassist and composer Siebe Pogson.


Funk Engine was formed in 2013 by a group of Sydney Conservatorium jazz graduates.