Digital booklet:  View · Download

Quiet Place

Each of the eleven tracks on this recording is a song without words. Although written over a number of years, each of these pieces by composer Andrew Blyth is characterised by a concern for simplicity and directness of expression.

Andrew Blyth writes: "When I brought the pieces together as a collection, it was evident that the sound of the flute and harp pervaded the music. Megan and Kathryn of the Miscellany Ensemble were gracious enough to express a willingness to devote their time and energy to work with me in realising this recording. This is music that is intended for quiet, reflective listening. The recording is dedicated to my mother, Sheila Blyth."

Megan Reeve - harp
Kathryn Moorhead - flute
Katie Chilmaid - viola
Andrew Blyth - orchestration


Andrew Blyth

Andrew's music intentionally crosses the boundaries between classical and popular music.

Kathryn Moorhead

Originally from Australia, Kathryn now lives in New Zealand where she is the Associate Principal Flautist in the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra. She has worked with many orchestras including the Melbourne, Adelaide, Queensland, Tasmanian and Netherlands Symphony Orchestras, the Hong Kong and Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestras, the Adelaide Chamber Orchestra, and Orchestra Victoria.

Megan Reeve

Megan has been performing professionally on the harp for over twenty years. She holds a Bachelor of Music degree with Honours from the University of Melbourne, a Master of Music Performance degree from the Victorian College of the Arts, and a Master of Arts in Music, Culture and Politics from Cardiff University, Wales.

Track Listing

  1. Gliding Andrew Blyth
  2. Drifting Andrew Blyth
  3. Innocence Andrew Blyth
  4. Irish song Andrew Blyth
  5. Inner strength Andrew Blyth
  6. Old country Andrew Blyth
  7. Harp piece Andrew Blyth
  8. Quiet place Andrew Blyth
  9. A long time ago Andrew Blyth
  10. Walking Andrew Blyth
  11. Western districts Andrew Blyth


Where to buy

Quiet Place is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Spotify and Apple Music.

Quiet Place is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$20.00 AUD
Release date
© 2007 Move Records
℗ 2007 Move Records
Australian, Classical
Catalogue number
MCD 366
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574036626