Digital booklet:  View · Download

Beethoven Cello

Cellists often bemoan the lack of a cello concerto by Beethoven – and rightly so, but these eight works for cello and piano are the envy of many other instruments. The complete cello sonatas and variations of Beethoven are here on this two CD set.

Beethoven had contact with a number of virtuoso cellists (Jean-Pierre and Jean-Louis Duport and Romberg to name a few). Beethoven even went so far as to offer to write a concerto for Romberg, but Romberg politely declined, saying he preferred to play his own compositions. In any case, we are grateful for these five sonatas and three sets of variations. In the late 18th century the cello was beginning to become known as a solo instrument with great expressive potential.

As a duo Zoe Knighton and Amir Farid debuted at Melbourne Recital Centre in 2009 and have since released two CDs on the Move label, performed in the ABC Sunday Live series, the Saturday Sessions (ABC), the Port Fairy Spring Music Festival and throughout regional Victoria. As well- known chamber musicians in Australia’s premiere ensembles, Knighton and Farid bring a wealth of experience and onstage rapport to their partnership and performances, and are enjoying increasing demand for their intimate and sensitive live performances.


Zoe Knighton

Zoe is at the fore of a new generation of performer intent on forging an innovative path for the enjoyment of 'classical' music. She is a founding member of Flinders Quartet

Amir Farid

Pianist Amir Farid has been described as "a highly creative musician - a pianist of great intelligence and integrity. He brings strong musical substance to all that he does, imbuing it with his own particular experience and understanding", and who "in a well populated field...distinguishes himself for all the right reasons".

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and pianist. The crucial figure in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras in Western art music, he remains one of the most famous and influential composers of all time.

Press quote

“Cellist Zoe Knighton and pianist Amir Farid are an adornment to Melbourne chamber music. In this two-CD collaboration they play all five Beethoven cello sonatas, with a bonus of the much rarer two sets of variations on themes by Mozart (both from the Magic Flute) and one set on a theme by Handel. Knighton is a rich-toned and warm cellist, with a sensitive understanding with the capable Farid, and this recording is very forward and natural. The lovely A major sonata (Op 69) is particularly successful, but cello lovers will be especially grateful to have the three sets of variations.” ★★★½

— Barney Zwartz, The Age

Audio previews

Track Listing

  1. 7 Variations in E flat major on a theme of Mozart Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No.1 Adagio sostenuto - Allegro Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Sonata No. 1 in F major, Op. 5 No. 1 Rondo: Allegro vivace Ludwig van Beethoven
  4. 12 Variations in G major on a theme of Handel Ludwig van Beethoven
  5. Sonata No. 3 in A major Op. 69 Ludwig van Beethoven

  6. Allegro ma non tanto
  7. Scherzo: Allegro molto
  8. Adagio cantabile - Allegro vivace

Disc 2

  1. 12 Variations in F major on a theme by Mozart Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Sonata No.2 in G minor, Op. 5 No. 2 Ludwig van Beethoven

  3. Adagio sostenuto e espressivo - Allegro molto più tosto presto
  4. Rondo: Allegro
  5. Sonata No. 4 in C major, Op. 102, No.1 Ludwig van Beethoven

  6. Andante - Allegro vivace
  7. Adagio - Tempo d'Andante - Allegro vivace
  8. Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op. 102 No. 2 Ludwig van Beethoven

  9. Allegro con brio
  10. Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto - attaca
  11. Allegro - Allegro fugato


Where to buy

Beethoven Cello is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Beethoven Cello is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
May 2012
© 2012 Move Records
℗ 2012 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3356
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574335620