Digital booklet:  View · Download

Bach Byrd Britten

Works by the great trilogy of choral composers, Bach, Byrd and Britten sung by the magnificent Choir of Ormond College. Includes A Ceremony of Carols.

Indicative of the choir's breadth of repertoire and talent in performing a vast range of musical styles. Features Bach's motet 'Lobet den Herrn alle Heiden', Byrd's 'Mass for Four Voices' and Britten's delightful 'Five Flower Songs' and 'A Ceremony of Carols'.


Choir of Ormond College

Since its inception in 1982 under the direction of Douglas Lawrence, the Choir of Ormond College has become the first Australian choir to receive ongoing international recognition.

Douglas Lawrence

Melbourne organist Douglas Lawrence is Director of Music at The Scots' Church and Teacher of the Organ at the University of Melbourne and was the founding director of Choir of Ormond College, a position he held from 1982 to 2006.

Press quote

“...precise articulation enhances the lively Bach polyphony; suave melodic contouring highlights the elegance of Byrd's vocal lines and rhythmic precision and fine vocal blendings throw into sharp relief the spicy harmonies of Britten's delightful songs and carols.”

One Voice

Audio preview

Track Listing

  1. Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230 Johann Sebastian Bach 6:40
  2. Mass for four voices William Byrd

  3. Kyrie 2:10
  4. Gloria 5:47
  5. Credo 8:05
  6. Sanctus 2:27
  7. Benedictus 1:25
  8. Agnus dei 3:13
  9. Five Flower Songs, Op. 47 Benjamin Britten

  10. To daffodils 2:04
  11. The succession of the four sweet months 1:52
  12. Marsh flowers 2:35
  13. The evening primrose 2:23
  14. Ballad of green Broom 2:17
  15. A ceremony of carols, Op.28, for treble voices and harp Benjamin Britten

  16. Procession 1:19
  17. Wolcum Yole! 1:26
  18. There is no Rose 2:34
  19. That yonge child 1:37
  20. Balulalow 1:28
  21. As dew in Aprille 1:04
  22. This little babe 1:36
  23. Interlude (harp solo) 3:37
  24. In freezing winter night 4:23
  25. Spring carol 1:15
  26. Adam lay i-bounden 1:17
  27. Recession 1:21



Benjamin Britten

Edward Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976) was an English composer, conductor, and pianist. Britten's operas are firmly established in the international repertoire. He has more operas played worldwide than any other composer born in the 20th century.

Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Where to buy

Bach Byrd Britten is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Bach Byrd Britten is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
63 minutes 55 seconds
Martin Wright
Dining Hall Ormond College
Xavier College Chapel
Release date
© 1989 Move Records
℗ 1989 Move Records
Choral, Classical
Catalogue number
MD 3104
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574310429