Digital booklet:  View · Download

Tuba Recital

One of the world's finest tuba players and the first to give a tuba recital in Australia, Ian King here presents a recital of works ranging from Bach and Vivaldi, to the remarkable Tuba Sonata of Paul Hindemith.

Pianists Paul Hamburger and Margaret Schofield join Ian King, one of the world's best tuba players, in Bach and Handel gamba sonatas, a Vivaldi cello sonata, Beethoven's early Horn Sonata and Paul Hindemith's Tuba Sonata.

This digitally re-mastered CD contains historic recordings from Ian King's pioneering recitals in London - the first tuba recital ever in Wigmore Hall, 1970, and Melbourne (1969).


Ian King

In 1955, Ian King gave the first Australian performance of Vaughan Williams' Tuba Concerto, and has since given many other concerto performances in Australia, England and Europe, including concertos for bassoon and horn. In 1958 he recorded a solo disc for an Australian recording company, and has made many subsequent appearances on radio and television, as well as in the concert hall, as soloist and in chamber music.

Press quotes

“King's handling of his chosen instrument is of virtuoso class ... his breath control is quite astonishing.”

— John Barns, 3MBS FM Libretto

“The transcriptions are so good, and King's playing so impeccable, that each work could have been written for the instrument. What is breathtaking is King's playing. His control is astonishing, but it does not overshadow his musicianship.”

— Kim Lockwood, Herald Sun

“Ian King must surely rank among the world's finest tuba players ... remarkable control and dexterity ... masterly interpretation ... intelligently shaded dynamics and musical sensitivity.”

The British Bandsman

“considerable virtuosity ... the complete master of instrument and style.”

The Age

“refreshing to hear an unusual instrument played so well”

— Cliff Tucker, Radio Freemantle

“a valuable resource for teachers and students of the tuba, where an incredible display of all elements of tuba technique have been preserved for future reference.”

— Amanda Watson, ASME Journal

Audio preview

Track Listing

    Viola da Gamba Sonata, No. 1 Johann Sebastian Bach

  1. Adagio
  2. Allegro
  3. Quasi lento
  4. Allegro moderato
  5. Viola da Gamba Sontata in G Minor, Op. 1: No. 6 George Frideric Handel

  6. Grave
  7. Allegro 1
  8. Sarabande - Largo
  9. Allegro 2
  10. Cello Sonata No. 5 in E Minor Antonio Vivaldi

  11. Largo
  12. Allegro
  13. Lento (alla sicilliana)
  14. Vivo
  15. Horn Sonata in F Major, Op. 17 Ludwig van Beethoven

  16. Allegro moderato
  17. Poco adagio
  18. Rondo - Allegro moderato
  19. Sonata for Tuba and Piano Paul Hindemith

  20. Allegro pesante
  21. Allegro assai
  22. Variationen - Moderato
  23. Moderato



Antonio Vivaldi

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi was an Italian Baroque composer, priest, and virtuoso violinist. Vivaldi is recognised as one of the greatest Baroque composers, and his influence during his lifetime was widespread over Europe.

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and pianist. The crucial figure in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras in Western art music, he remains one of the most famous and influential composers of all time.

George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel was a German-British Baroque composer, famous for his operas, oratorios, and concertos. Handel's music was well known to such later composers as Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven.

Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Where to buy

Tuba Recital is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Tuba Recital is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
© 2000 Move Records
℗ 2000 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3226
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574322620