Digital booklet:  View · Download


Two brings together the nationally renowned talents of Marais Project founding members, Jennifer Eriksson, viola da gamba, and Tommie Andersson, gallichon, theorbo and baroque guitar, in a seldom heard way. Each plays alternate brackets of solos on their respective instruments before embarking on a joint performance of a splendid suite by Marin Marais.

Guest artist, Susie Bishop voice, joins them for a gorgeous encore. The performers wanted to create the feel of a live performance in the way the music flows and the performers interact.

“The theorbo and the baroque guitar have a wonderful solo repertoire spanning hundreds of years” Jenny Eriksson commented, “Less so the gallichon, but Tommie arranged several pieces for this recording including a truly lovely Mozart adagio originally composer for the glass harmonica.” Tommie would like to dedicate his recording of Mozart's Adagio to the memory of recently deceased Swedish soprano, Eva Nässén.

The viola da gamba is also endowed with a rich treasure of solo works. For the first time in her career, Eriksson has performed and now recorded some of her favourite solo pieces, including the world premiere of a work written for her by Australian composer, Paul Cutlan. “Paul and I have known each other for many years and I deeply respect his musicianship. Sarabande is an arrangement of a movement of an earlier suite he wrote for viola da gamba and harpsichord. It is a privilege to bring this music to life for the first time.”

As might be expected, pride of place goes to the music of that giant of the viola da gamba, Marin Marais. “We have explored so many of his suites over the years and there is always a sense of achievement in committing another of the great man’s works to record,” says Eriksson. “Tommie and I know each other so well, and know the music so well, that it just flows from us!"


Jennifer Eriksson

Jenny Eriksson completed her initial musical studies at the NSW State Conservatorium of Music studying music education and cello with Barbara Woolley. She subsequently studied the viola da gamba with Jaap ter Linden at the Rotterdam Conservatorium for three years where she completed post-graduate studies in baroque music.

Tommie Andersson

Tommie Andersson was born in Sweden and has been based in Sydney since 1984. He is regarded as Australia's leading specialist in lutes and early guitars.

The Marais Project

If you love interesting, out of the way music and relaxed, concert settings you will love The Marais Project! Jennifer Eriksson originally founded the group in 2000 to perform the complete works of Marin Marais an 18th century genius of my instrument, the viola da gamba. Over the years our repertoire has greatly expanded and now includes a huge range of wonderful vocal and instrumental music for the viola da gamba from the 1300s to the present day. They also commission and arrange new music for the ensemble.

Track Listing

    Sonata for a Musical Clock George Frideric Handel

  1. Allegro, HWV 598
  2. Air, HWV 604
  3. Minuet, HWV 603
  4. Jig, HWV 599
  5. Suite in D minor for viola da gamba Jacques Lambert du Buisson

  6. Prelude
  7. Allemande variation
  8. Sarabande
  9. Courante
  10. Pieces for guitar Johann Anton Losy von Losinthal

  11. Prélude
  12. Aria
  13. Gavote
  14. Sonata in G Major for viola da gamba Carl Friedrich Abel

  15. Adagio
  16. Minuet
  17. Spinning forth Sarabande Paul Cutlan
  18. Adagio für Glasharmonika, KV 356 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  19. Suite in A Major Marin Marais

  20. Prelude
  21. Allemande
  22. Air en Vaudeville, Mesme Air double
  23. Sarabande
  24. Gigue
  25. Menuet I, Menuet II
  26. Branle de Village
  27. J'avois crû qu'en vous aymant (Anonymous)



George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel was a German-British Baroque composer, famous for his operas, oratorios, and concertos. Handel's music was well known to such later composers as Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was a prolific and influential composer of the Classical era. He composed over 600 works, many acknowledged as pinnacles of symphonic, concertante, chamber, piano, operatic, and choral music. He is among the most enduringly popular of classical composers.

Where to buy

Two is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$15.00 AUD
Release date
April 2021
© 2021 The Marais Project
℗ 2021 Move Records
Early music
Catalogue number
MCD 617
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574061727