Digital booklet:  View · Download

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring (piano four hands)

Stravinsky's "The Rite of Spring" was first composed in 1913 for piano four hands, eight years before the orchestral score as published. Ronald Farren-Price and Rosslyn Farren-Price give an intense, highly rhythmic performance of the "Rite" — in stark contrast to the second work on this disc, Ravel's melodic "Mother Goose Suite" which was also originally for piano four hands.


Ronald Farren-Price

Ronald Farren-Price "... a sensitive artist and a virtuoso of top rank ... he demonstrated a perfect balance between the sound and the expression of the music ... definitely a pianist of great distinction."

Rosslyn Farren-Price

Rosslyn Farren-Price graduated from the Melbourne University Conservatorium of Music in 1964. She studied piano with Ronald Farren-Price. As well as teaching she has broadcast a number of times for the ABC radio and television, appeared with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, and has lectured for the Council of Adult Education. She now lives in London.

Press quotes

“The two compositions are starkly contrasted – The Rite's fiery staccato against the melodic flow of Mother Goose ... this is one of the most important classical recordings issued in Australia for many years.”

— Bob Crimeen, The Sun

“Stravinsky always worked at the piano, and it is fascinating to hear the score in its original form: some of the instrumental colour may be lost, but none of the music's primitive rhythmic effect.”

— W L Hoffmann, The Canberra Times

“... it is a first-rate record. The playing of both works is clean, vital, full of character and splendidly disciplined.”

— John Sinclair, The Herald

“Without doubt, it is an important contribution to the catalog of Australian recorded classics. ... Their performance of 'The Rite' is intense and builds anticipated climaxes strongly.”

— Forester, The Age

Audio previews

Track Listing

    The Rite of Spring Igor Stravinsky

  1. Introduction
  2. Dances of the Young Girls
  3. Ritual of Abduction
  4. Spring Rounds
  5. Ritual of the Rival Tribes
  6. Procession of the Sage
  7. The Sage
  8. Dance of the Earth
  9. The Sacrifice: Introduction
  10. Mystic Circles of the Young Girls
  11. Glorification of the Chosen One
  12. Evocation of the Ancestors
  13. Ritual Action of the Ancestors
  14. Sacrificial Dance (The Chosen One)
  15. Mother Goose Suite Maurice Ravel

  16. Pavane of the Sleeping Beauty
  17. Tom Thumb
  18. Little Ugly, Empress of the Pagodas
  19. Beauty and the Beast
  20. The Fairy Garden



Maurice Ravel

Many consider Ravel as a major composer for the piano as well as a genius of orchestration. But it is always a surprise to discover how few works make up his total output for the instrument. All his compositions for piano can be performed in under two and one half hours.

Where to buy

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring (piano four hands) is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring (piano four hands) is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$20.00 AUD
Release date
October 1977
© 1977 Move Records
℗ 1977 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3017
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574301724