Digital booklet:  View · Download

The Marvellous World of George Dreyfus, Volume 2

The second volume of marvellous music from one of Australia's favourite composers, George Dreyfus. This album provides a great insight into Dreyfus' multifaceted talents.

Opening with a spirited and moving rendition of the 'Ned Kelly Ballads' by folk singer Broderick Smith accompanied by four french horns and rhythm section, this CD embraces a compendium of Dreyfus' musical styles.

The 'Italian Songs', featured in the TV series 'Waterfront' and beautifully performed here by soprano Joanna Cole accompanied by pianist Len Vorster, illustrate Dreyfus' perfect mirroring of Italian Verissimo.

The youthful Methodist Ladies College Senior Madrigal Group perform 'Lifestyle' a suite of unaccompanied choral movements, appropriately dealing with youthful ambitions and dreams.

In 'Homage à Victor Bruns', the three bassoonists from the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra are joined by a fourth, the composer himself, a one time bassoonist of that orchestra, for a brief but telling essay in neoclassicism.

In complete stylistic contrast (but then is this not the hallmark of Dreyfus' creative career) the Prism Wind Quintet perform the 'Quintet for Wind Instruments', a compendium of the 1960's Darmstadt school of compositional techniques.

Brilliant performances are also given in the solo pieces on the CD which include 'Odyssey for a Lone Bassoon' performed by Matthew Wilkie, 'Stant Litore Puppes' performed by organist Christopher Cook, 'In Memoriam' Raoul Wallenberg performed by clarinettist David Thomas accompanied by pianist Robert Chamberlain and 'Heidelberg 1890' for soprano and flute performed by Marianne Collet-Stier and Almut Riemenschneider.

The CD is rounded off with three Dreyfus classics. 'In New Gold Mountain' played by the Australian Chinese Ensemble you can just imagine yourself in the tea house of Yu Yuan Garden in Shanghai.

And was there ever a more soothing ballad for all animal lovers to cuddle up to than 'Love Your Animal', commissioned by the RSPCA and performed here by the Melbourne Musicians conducted by Frank Pam.

Finally, the now sadly disbanded 5th Military District Band from Perth resurface with a rousing rendition, the 25th commercially released version of Dreyfus' hardly disbanded, always evergreen-fresh national treasure, the theme from the television series 'Rush'.


George Dreyfus

One of Australia's best known composers, especially the theme from the TV series "Rush", George Dreyfus was recently awarded a the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany at the Victorian Parliament House, for services to music.

Press quotes

“full of the customary Dreyfus panache and is a tribute to the composer's extraordinary ability”

— Tony Way, The Age - Green Guide

“the whole disc is a timely tribute to this tireless, greatly gifted musician.”

— Clive O'Connell, The Age

Audio preview

Track Listing

    Ned Kelly Ballads George Dreyfus

  1. Man in Iron
  2. Greta Lovesong
  3. The Kellys, Byrne and Hart
  4. Lifestyle George Dreyfus

  5. Telephone
  6. Beach
  7. Chocolate
  8. Friendship
  9. Rush George Dreyfus
  10. In Memoriam Raoul Wallenberg George Dreyfus
  11. Heidelberg 1890 George Dreyfus

  12. Golden Summer; North Wind
  13. Feeding the Chickens
  14. The Departure of the SS Orient; Redfern Station
  15. The Flower Sellers
  16. Homage à Victor Bruns George Dreyfus
  17. Stant Litore Puppes George Dreyfus
  18. Four Italian Songs George Dreyfus

  19. Rondinella
  20. Ogni speranza
  21. Rimprovero
  22. Non m'aje da
  23. New Gold Mountain George Dreyfus
  24. Nullabor Hideout George Dreyfus
  25. Quintet for Wind Instruments George Dreyfus
  26. Odyssey for a Lone Bassoon George Dreyfus
  27. Love Your Animal George Dreyfus


Where to buy

The Marvellous World of George Dreyfus, Volume 2 is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

The Marvellous World of George Dreyfus, Volume 2 is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
© 1998 Move Records
℗ 1998 Move Records
Australian, Classical
Catalogue number
MD 3190
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574319026