The rose and the willow

The vision for this project was to use the music of Piazzolla, Ginastera and Guastavino as a launching point, to exploit the improvisatory nature of the genre and to rebuild the music from its bare elements to a work that gives equal emphasis to both the piano and saxophone.

Piazzolla, Ginastera and Guastavino each in their own way had the unique ability to explore a wide range of emotional states in their music. Aside from the powerful emotional content of the music chosen for this CD, this music is also representative of an aesthetic which straddles the perceived boundaries that separate jazz, folk and classical forms. The combination of these elements with the idea to create a new dimension to these composers existing ideas made this an exciting and challenging project on many levels.

Press quote

“This is one for the jazz enthusiast who enjoys a South American flavour...saxophonist Christina Leonard and pianist Matt McMahon, set out to create new dimensions, improvising on the composers' ideas...this CD makes very interesting listening”

— Margaret McNamara, 4MBS Program Guide

Track Listing

Six Tango Etudes for Saxophone and Piano
1 Etude no 6
2 Etude no 5
3 Etude no 4
4 Etude no 3
5 Etude no 2
6 Etude no 1

7 Cita
8 Se equivoco la paloma
9 La Rose y el sauce

Cinco canciones populares Argentinas
10 Chacarera
11 Triste
12 Zamba
13 Arroro
14 Gato

Where to buy

The rose and the willow can be purchased online through Buywell Just Classical or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

This title is also available in (or can be ordered through) many fine music retailers across Australia, including Thomas’ and Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Catalogue number
MCD 392
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574039221