Crossing over between ragtime, tango, modern classical and folk music of various cultures, this collection of recent works for violin and guitar spans a period from Astor Piazzolla's 1986 composition Histoire du Tango to Tim Hansen's 2007 re-scoring of Earwig for Zoë and Daniel.

Given the contemporary nature of the repertoire, and the fact that two of the works here receive their premiere recordings, it seems apt to 'borrow' the title from Piazzolla's concert-hall tango 'of today', Concert d'aujourd'hui.

With the obvious exception of Piazzolla, the whirlwind tour through Europe, Argentina and Australia heard on d'aujourd'hui is provided by some of Europe and Australia's most exciting living composers.


Zoë Black

Zoë Black has won numerous awards including the National Youth Concerto Competition in 1989 and the String section of the ABC Young Performers Award in 1991.

Daniel McKay

Daniel McKay began his musical studies at an early age under the guidance of his parents, both of whom are practicing music teachers. Daniel was active as a multi-instrumentalist, performing within a myriad of popular styles.

Press quote

“a whirlwind tour through Europe, Argentina and Australia and a really refreshing experience!”

— Margaret McNamara, 4MBS Program Guide

Audio previews

Track Listing

    Sonatina Bulgarica Atanas Ourkouzounov

  1. Allegro Ritmico 3:08
  2. Largo 3:26
  3. Vivo con Fuoco 2:38
  4. Two Night Movements Phillip Houghton

  5. Full Moon 5:42
  6. Banshee 3:15
  7. Character Interludes Elena Kats-Chernin

  8. Character Interlude 1 1:14
  9. Character Interlude 2 1:40
  10. Character Interlude 3 1:09
  11. Character Interlude 4 1:56
  12. Character Interlude 5 1:19
  13. Character Interlude 6 1:41
  14. Character Interlude 7 1:39
  15. Character Interlude 8 1:29
  16. Character Interlude 9 1:20
  17. Histoire du Tango Ástor Piazzolla

  18. Bordel 1900 3:48
  19. Café 1930 7:09
  20. Nightclub 1960 5:56
  21. Concert d'aujourd'hui 2:55
  22. Earwig Tim Hansen 7:05



Phillip Houghton

Phillip Houghton's guitar music has been performed and recorded by leading musicians, including John Williams and Timothy Kain, who recently recorded his Three Duets. Some 20 of his guitar solos, published by Moonstone Music, are on the national music syllabus (AMEB) and is also represented in the new Benjamin Verdery Guitar Series for Frederick Harris Publishers.

Where to buy

d'aujourd'hui can be purchased online through Buywell Just Classical or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

This title is also available in (or can be ordered through) many fine music retailers across Australia, including Thomas’, Discurio and Readings.

Product details

Recorded at the Move Records Studio, Melbourne Australia.

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
58 minutes 29 seconds
Move Records Studio
Release date
August 2008
© 2008 Move Records
℗ 2008 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3323
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574332322