Digital booklet:  View · Download

Historic Organs of the Barossa Valley, Volume 1

Stunning performances by Christopher Dearnley and John Stiller on six of the historic church organs of the Barossa Valley. Includes a 16 page booklet giving a history of the organs in the Barossa area, their builders and the music.

A tour of South Australia's famous Barossa Valley would usually evoke images of leafy vineyards and dark and cavernous cellars, however Move Records have put together a tour of another kind. Together with Volume 2 (available separately), "Historic Organs" records the historic Lutheran organs in the region.

Christopher Dearnley, one of the world's leading organists (St. Paul's Cathedral, London 1968-1990), and John Stiller, combine to provide valuable and unique renditions of popular and rare organ repertoire on these magnificent instruments. Volume 1 contains music by Bach, Handel, Buxtehude, Pachelbel and Purcell.

Accompanying booklets outline the history of the organs, their builders and the music.


John Stiller

After years of study and performing overseas John Stiller was employed by the newly formed Organ Historical Trust of Australia as Research Officer and in 1986 he was appointed as director of music at St Petri Lutheran Church Nuriootpa. He has given many recitals and performed for the Barossa Music Festival in 1990 and 1994.

Christopher Dearnley

The late Christopher Dearnley established a world-wide reputation as an outstanding organist and leading church musician through many recordings and solo performances.

Press quotes

“... recording quality is what we have come to expect from Move – outstanding ... what a splendid addition to any CD collection!”

Organ Music Society Journal

“I have played and replayed this disc - and it still keeps growing on me.”

— Robert Wiebusch, The Lutheran

“an admirable aural documentation of the musical treasures to be found in the Barossa region.”

Organ Historical Trust of Australia News

“beautifully played ... a great introduction to these organs”

— Bruce Steele, Organo Pleno

Audio preview

Track Listing

  1. Prelude in A Major Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Ricercar in C Minor Johann Pachelbel
  3. Toccata E Minor Johann Pachelbel
  4. Improvisation in E minor John Stiller
  5. Prelude & Fugue in E minor Dietrich Buxtehude
  6. Bourrée in B flat George Frideric Handel
  7. Möcht ich din begern (Anonymous)
  8. Carillon-Sortie Henri Mulet
  9. Improvisation in G minor John Stiller
  10. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier Johann Sebastian Bach
  11. Herzlich tut mich verlangen Friedrich Kühmstedt
  12. Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend Johann Christoph Bach
  13. Nun ruhen alle Wälder, BWV 756 Johann Sebastian Bach
  14. Jesu meine Freude Michael Gotthard Fischer
  15. Improvisation in G minor John Stiller
  16. Voluntary in E minor Charles John Stanley
  17. Eclogue Moneta Eagles
  18. Toccata in D minor, op. 59, no. 5 Max Reger
  19. Chorale improvisation on "O Little Town of Bethlehem" Paul Manz
  20. Chorale improvisation on "Still Still Still" Paul Manz
  21. Chorale improvisation on "Praise to the Lord (Lobe den Herren)" Paul Manz
  22. Improvisation on "Jesu Meine Freude" John Stiller
  23. Improvisation after Boëllmann John Stiller
  24. Slow Air (from the Married Beau) and Rondeau (from Abdelazar) Henry Purcell Arr: Christopher Dearnley
  25. Toccata Georgi Mushel



Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel was a German-British Baroque composer, famous for his operas, oratorios, and concertos. Handel's music was well known to such later composers as Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven.

Johann Pachelbel

Johann Pachelbel was a German Baroque composer, organist and teacher, who brought the south German organ tradition to its peak. He composed a large body of sacred and secular music, and his contributions to the development of the chorale prelude and fugue have earned him a place among the most important composers of the middle Baroque era.

Dietrich Buxtehude

Dieterich Buxtehude was a German-Danish organist and composer of the Baroque period. His organ works represent a central part of the standard organ repertoire and are frequently performed at recitals and in church services.

Johann Christoph Bach

Johann Christoph Bach (6 December 1642 – 31 March 1703) was a German composer and organist of the Baroque period. He was born at Arnstadt, the son of Heinrich Bach, Johann Sebastian Bach's great uncle, hence he was Johann Sebastian's first cousin once removed. He was also the uncle of Maria Barbara Bach, J.S. Bach's first wife. He is not to be confused with Johann Sebastian's Bach's son, Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach.

Henry Purcell

Henry Purcell was an English organist and Baroque composer of secular and sacred music. Although Purcell incorporated Italian and French stylistic elements into his compositions, his legacy was a uniquely English form of Baroque music.

Where to buy

Historic Organs of the Barossa Valley, Volume 1 is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Historic Organs of the Barossa Valley, Volume 1 is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Martin Wright
Vaughan McAlley
Release date
© 1995 Move Records
℗ 1995 Move Records
Baroque, Classical, Organ
Catalogue number
MD 3156
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574315622