Digital booklet:  View · Download


Alicia Crossley, one of Australia's leading recorder players, performs transcriptions for recorder. She performs a wide variety of repertoire from renaissance dance tunes, to contemporary electro-acoustic works with a particular interest in bass recorder repertoire.

The collection of works featured on Alchemy have all been transformed into valuable compositions for the recorder and help bridge the gaps that exist in traditional repertoire for the instrument. Works such as Tromlitz’s Partita V, Faure’s Sicilienne, and Debussy’s Syrinx extend the recorder into the rarely explored classical, romantic and impressionist genres.

Other works, such as Bach’s Cello Suite No.1 and Telemann’s Fantasia 10, have been selected to enhance the limited solo repertoire for tenor and bass recorder; instruments that have virtually no solo repertoire before the mid-twentieth century. Each transcription featured on Alchemy has been kept as close to the original score as possible, with the occasional transposition made in order to keep the composition within the recorders’ range.


Alicia Crossley

Alicia Crossley is one of Australia’s leading recorder players. She performs a wide variety of repertoire from renaissance dance tunes to contemporary electro-acoustic works with a particular interest in bass recorder repertoire.

Press quote

“Alicia has travelled extensively throughout Australia and there is no doubt that in this CD she shows great passion for the music, and one hopes that current composers will produced copious amounts of music for her. She deserves it! Harp and guitar add some pleasant accompaniments to the recorder and overall the CD is worthy of a valuable place in the recorder repertoire.” ★★★★

— Emyr Evans, 2MBS Fine Music Magazine

Audio previews

Track Listing

    Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007 Johann Sebastian Bach Arr: Alicia Crossley

  1. Prélude 2:03
  2. Allemande 3:56
  3. Courante 2:23
  4. Sarabande 2:26
  5. Menuet I and Menuet II 2:42
  6. Gigue 1:19
  7. Fantasia 10, TWV 40:23 Georg Philipp Telemann Arr: Alicia Crossley

  8. Presto 1:36
  9. Largo 2:14
  10. Allegro :52
  11. Goldfish Through Summer Rain Anne Boyd Arr: Marshall McGuire 4:25
  12. Syrinx Claude Debussy 2:52
  13. Toward the Sea Toru Takemitsu Arr: Alicia Crossley

  14. The Night 2:54
  15. Moby Dick 3:16
  16. Cape Cod 2:55
  17. Partita V Johann George Tromlitz Arr: Alicia Crossley

  18. Largo 4:07
  19. Allegro Assai 1:40
  20. Menuet con variazioni 6:30
  21. Sicilienne, Op. 78 Gabriel Fauré Arr: Tristan Coelho 3:39
  22. The Garden of Love Jacob ter Veldhuis Arr: Alicia Crossley 7:21



Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Georg Philipp Telemann

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681–1767) was a German Baroque composer and multi-instrumentalist. Almost completely self-taught in music, he became a composer against his family's wishes.

Anne Boyd

Anne Boyd enjoys a distinguished career as a composer and music educator. She graduated from the University of Sydney with a BA Hons in Music degree in 1967 and from the University of York in England with a PhD in composition in 1972.

Claude Debussy

Claude-Achille Debussy was a French composer. Along with Maurice Ravel, he was one of the most prominent figures working within the field of impressionist music, though he himself intensely disliked the term when applied to his compositions.

Gabriel Fauré

Gabriel Urbain Fauré was a French composer, pianist, organist and teacher. He was one of the foremost French composers of his era, and his musical style influenced many 20th century composers.

Where to buy

Alchemy is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Spotify and Apple Music.

Alchemy is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
59 minutes 10 seconds
Release date
April 2015
© 2015 Alicia Crossley
℗ 2015 Move Records
Catalogue number
MCD 508
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574050820