A collection of Impromptus, Fantasies and Impressions for piano solo, played by Brian Chapman. Although only two of the pieces presented in this collection carry the title Impromptu, many of the other works possess an improvisatory quality.

Beethoven's simply constructed 'easy' sonata may well have been a written out improvisation that only became published years later when the composer realised that his encroaching deafness made his future more dependent on composition and publication than on public performance. And we might fairly describe as 'doodling' the manner of commencement of Mozart's Fantasia in D minor, the two Spanish pieces and the first four of the Debussy selections.


Brian Chapman

Born in England in 1944, Brian Chapman studied piano in Brisbane with Nora Baird from 1952, and in Melbourne from 1954 with Lindsay Biggins, J.A. Steele and Roy Shepherd. After obtaining his AMusA performing diploma in 1958, he discontinued piano lessons the following year for five years, returning to study with Roy Shepherd in 1964.

Track Listing

SCHUBERT (1797-1828)
1. Impromptu in G flat, Op.90 No.3
2. Impromptu in A flat, Op.142 No.2

MOZART (1756-1791)
3. Fantasia in D minor, K.397
4. Minuet in D, K.355/576b

BEETHOVEN (1770-1827)
Sonata in G major, Op.49 No.2
5. Allegro, ma non troppo
6. Tempo di Minuetto
7. Minuet in G, WoO 10 No.2

Sonata quasi una fantasia in E flat, Op.27 No.1
8. Andante - Allegro - Tempo I
9. Allegro molto e vivace
10. Adagio con espressione
11. Allegro vivace - Tempo I - Presto

GRANADOS (1867-1917)
12. The Maiden and the Nightingale from Goyescas

ALBÉNIZ (1860-1909)
13. El Albaicin from Iberia Book III

DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
14. Clair de lune from Suite bergamasque Three Préludes from Book I
15. Footsteps in the snow
16. The girl with the flaxen hair
17. The engulfed cathedral
18. Gardens under rain from Estampes

Where to buy

Impromptu can be purchased online through Buywell Just Classical or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

This title can be ordered through fine music retailers across Australia including Readings and Fish Fine Music.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Classical, Keyboard
Catalogue number
MCD 426
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574042627