Digital booklet:  View · Download


Ian Holtham, piano. Featuring Chopin's 'Twenty-Four Études Op. 10 & Op. 25', perfect examples of their genre, wonderfully innovative in their textures and uncompromisingly challenging in their technical difficulties.

This disc reveals the mastery and control of the keyboard which makes Ian Holtham such an exciting and highly acclaimed pianist.

Also includes four studies by Godowsky which use Chopin's études as compositional points of departure and are some of the most demanding and intriguing compositions ever conceived for the piano.


Ian Holtham

Professor Ian Holtham is one of the most distinguished and highly regarded pianists and pedagogues in Australia and his performances of the great Classical and Romantic repertoire have played to packed houses and rave reviews for many years.

Press quotes

“One must still admire Holtham's tenacity in such difficult repertory and his maintenance of clarity and musicianship in the face of such odds.”

— Tony Way, The Age - Green Guide

“shows the mastery and control of the keyboard which makes Holtham such an exciting performer ... Melbourne is indeed lucky to have such a resident talent.”

3MBS FM Libretto

Audio preview

Track Listing

    Études, Op 10 Frédéric Chopin

  1. No. 1 in C major (Allegro)
  2. No. 2 in A minor (Allegro)
  3. No. 3 in E major (Lento ma non troppo)
  4. No. 4 in C♯ minor (Presto)
  5. No. 5 in G♭major (Vivace)
  6. No. 6 in E♭minor (Andante)
  7. No. 7 in C major (Vivace)
  8. No. 8 in F major (Allegro)
  9. No. 9 in F minor (Allegro molto agitato)
  10. No. 10 in A♭ major (Vivace assai)
  11. No. 11 in E♭ major (Allegretto)
  12. No. 12 in C minor (Allegro con fuoco)
  13. Études, Op 25 Frédéric Chopin

  14. No. 1 in A flat major (Allegro sostenuto)
  15. No. 2 in F minor (Presto)
  16. No. 3 in F major (Allegro)
  17. No. 4 in A minor (Agitato)
  18. No. 5 in E minor (Vivace)
  19. No. 6 in G♯ minor (Allegro)
  20. No. 7 in C♯ minor (Lento)
  21. No. 8 in D♭major (Vivace legato)
  22. No. 9 in G♭ major (Allegro vivace)
  23. No. 10 in B minor (Allegro con fuoco)
  24. No. 11 in A minor (Lento − Allegro con brio)
  25. No. 12 in C minor (Allegro molto, con fuoco)
  26. Four Studies on Chopin's Etudes Leopold Godowsky

  27. No. 1: Op. 10 No. 1
  28. No. 3: Op. 10 No. 2 : Study for the left hand alone
  29. No. 4: Op. 10 No. 2: "Ignis Fatuus"
  30. No. 47: Op. 10 No. 5 & Op. 25 No. 9: "Badinage"



Frédéric Chopin

Frédéric François Chopin was a Polish composer, virtuoso pianist, and music teacher. He was one of the great masters of Romantic music and has been called "the poet of the piano".

Where to buy

études is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

études is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Martin Wright
Thanks to
John McKinlay
Stephen Duns
Release date
© 1994 Move Records
℗ 1994 Move Records
Classical, Keyboard
Catalogue number
MD 3134
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574313420