Digital booklet:  View · Download

Music for the Countess of Sandwich

First release of the complete suites for Flûte du Voix by Charles Dieupart, includes two suites copied by J.S. Bach.

Two of Australia's leading early music specialists – together on one disc – perform exquisite music of the French Baroque. The first Australian release of the complete suites for 'voice-flute' composed by Charles Dieupart.

In 1701 Dieupart dedicated these works to Elizabeth, Countess of Sandwich, daughter of the Earl of Rochester who had been sent to France for her health, and became Dieupart's harpsichord pupil.

Two versions of the Suites were published simultaneously; one for solo harpsichord the other with parts for violin or flute, and continuo (ie harpsichord). The fifth and sixth suites are presented on Music for the Countess of Sandwich as solo harpsichord versions. The opening of J. S. Bach's English Suite is 'borrowed' from Dieupart's Premier Suite from this collection.

A rare opportunity to experience the unusual, haunting colours of the 'voice flute'.


Ruth Wilkinson

Ruth Wilkinson is a recorder and viol player whose musical expertise and passions are based on the performance of music from the 12th to the 18th century. Her performances have been praised for their musical integrity, imagination and brilliance.

Linda Kent

Linda has been a core member of the Elysium Ensemble and has performed with such notable artists as Walter van Hauwe, Han Tol, Eva Legène and Stanely Ritchie. Her playing has been critically acclaimed for its sensitivity, insight and sense of style.

Press quotes

“... the playing on this disc shows a thorough understanding of the the performance style of the day.”

— Andrew Ford, 24 Hours (ABC)

“... early music specialists Ruth Wilkinson and Linda Kent (perform these) pleasing and witty works ... (they) are light and deft, clearly at home in the idiom.”

— Barney Zwartz, The Age

“It is the unusual, elusive quality of (the voice flute) ... which I find entices one to listen to this recording over and over again.”

Early Music Society of Victoria

“Flawless delivery ... (Kent's) sense of colour and phrase-shape never fails.”

— Clive O'Connell, The Age

Audio preview

Track Listing

    Suitte 1 in A Major Charles Dieupart

  1. Ouverture:Gravement:Gay:Lentement
  2. Allemande
  3. Courante
  4. Sarabande
  5. Gavotte
  6. Menuet
  7. Gigue
  8. Suitte 2 in D Major Charles Dieupart

  9. Ouverture
  10. Allemande
  11. Courante
  12. Sarabande
  13. Gavotte
  14. Passepied
  15. Gigue
  16. Suitte 6 in F Minor Charles Dieupart

  17. Ouverture:Gravement:Gay:Lentement
  18. Allemande
  19. Courante
  20. Sarabande
  21. Gavotte
  22. Menuet
  23. Gigue
  24. Suitte 4 in E Minor Charles Dieupart

  25. Ouverture
  26. Allemande
  27. Suitte 4 in E Mminor Courante Charles Dieupart
  28. Suitte 4 in E Minor Charles Dieupart

  29. Sarabande
  30. Gavotte and Menuet
  31. Gigue
  32. Suitte 3 in B Minor Charles Dieupart

  33. Ouverture
  34. Allemande
  35. Courante
  36. Sarabande
  37. Gavotte
  38. Menuet Serieux
  39. Gigue
  40. Suitte 5 in F Major Charles Dieupart

  41. Ouverture
  42. Allemande
  43. Courante
  44. Sarabande
  45. Gavotte
  46. Menuet en Rondeau
  47. Gigue


Where to buy

Music for the Countess of Sandwich is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Music for the Countess of Sandwich is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

Recorded at the Move Records Studio, Melbourne Australia.

List price
$25.00 AUD
Martin Wright
Vaughan McAlley
Move Records Studio
Release date
© 1995 Move Records
℗ 1995 Move Records
Classical, Early music
Catalogue number
MD 3161
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574316124