Digital booklet:  View · Download

Via Frescobaldi

17th century Italian composer Girolamo Frescobaldi was conservative in style and yet an innovator in many ways. La Romanesca presents some of his improvisatory toccatas, imitative polyphonic instrumental music, and songs from his 'arie musicale' of 1630.

There is much instrumental diversity to be found here: countertenor, organ, harpsichord, recorders and viola da gamba are all heard in various combinations. La Romanesca's recording presents Frescobaldi's music according to the diversity of his virtually interchangeable canonzas; interchangeable since the titles under which they were published do little more than specify that they were suited for ogni sort di stromenti. It also includes a selection of the composer's lesser known solo vocal music.


La Romanesca

A leading force in early music in Australia since 1978, La Romanesca has developed a special interest in the performance of mediaeval monophonic and polyphonic song, although the group's repertory spans the twelfth to seventeenth centuries.

Press quotes

“Clear and dignified performances all round”

— Madeleine Rowles, Early Music News, NSW

“a range of musical styles and instruments which keep the listener's interest ... Superb.”

— Mark Norton, Queensland Pride

“The clean delicate lines of each instrumental combination and perfect tonal blend quickly transport the listener away”

— Dr. Amanda Watson, Victorian Journal of Music Education

“To survive 21 years as an early music ensemble in Australia is no mean feat and this is what La Romanesca's Frescobaldi recital joyously celebrates ... considerable experience and skill ... considerable empathy”

— Tony Way, The Age - Green Guide

Audio preview

Track Listing

  1. Canzona decimanona, detta la Capriola Girolamo Frescobaldi
  2. Sonetto spirituale, maddalena alle croce Girolamo Frescobaldi
  3. Toccata settima Girolamo Frescobaldi
  4. Canzona decimaterza, detta la Bianchina Girolamo Frescobaldi
  5. Se l'aura spira Girolamo Frescobaldi
  6. Canzona seconda sopra la Romanesca Girolamo Frescobaldi
  7. Canzona settima, detta la Superba Girolamo Frescobaldi
  8. Ohime, che fur, che sono (Sonetto spirituale in stile recitativo) Girolamo Frescobaldi
  9. Canzona seconda detta la Bernadinia Girolamo Frescobaldi
  10. Aria detta la Frescobalda Girolamo Frescobaldi
  11. Canzona vigesima prima, detta la Tegrimuccia Girolamo Frescobaldi
  12. Non mi negate, ohime Girolamo Frescobaldi
  13. Toccata settima Girolamo Frescobaldi
  14. Canzona terza detta la Lucchesina Girolamo Frescobaldi
  15. Troppo sotto due stelle Girolamo Frescobaldi
  16. Canzona seconda Girolamo Frescobaldi
  17. Cosi mi disprezzate: Aria di passicaglia Girolamo Frescobaldi
  18. Bergamasca Girolamo Frescobaldi
  19. Canzona terza, detta la Donatina Girolamo Frescobaldi
  20. Occhi che sete di voi pomposi Girolamo Frescobaldi



Where to buy

Via Frescobaldi is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Via Frescobaldi is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

Recorded at the Move Records Studio, Melbourne Australia.

List price
$25.00 AUD
Martin Wright
Vaughan McAlley
Move Records Studio
Release date
© 1999 Move Records
℗ 1999 Move Records
Classical, Early music, Vocal
Catalogue number
MD 3206
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574320626