Digital booklet:  View · Download

Burns and Beyond

This recording Burns and Beyond comprises a selection of songs written for voice and modern piano, and includes a performance of Percy Grainger's Three Scotch Folksongs which use ancient tunes of Scotland as inspiration.

There is a certain something in the old Scotch songs, a wild happiness of thought and expression, which peculiarly marks them, not only from English songs, but also from the modern efforts of song-wrights, in our native manner and language- Robert Burns

Each of these art songs, whether in Scots, English or in translation, is based on a melody and/or a poem associated with the 18th-century Scottish poet Robert Burns (1759-1796). Th is program maps an imperfect and incomplete journey through this lyric song oeuvre, but is one which highlights the richness of talent within the larger community of composers living in 19th and 20th century America, Australia, France, Germany, England and Scotland. Each song has been selected for its meritorious individuality of style, musical language and sensitivity to the inherent meaning of Burns' text.


Vivien Hamilton

Vivien is currently Lecturer in Voice at Monash University, and conducts the Monash University Women's Choir, also teaching at the University of Melbourne. Her recent work covers many styles and contexts, from the role of Mrs Anderson in the Melbourne Theatre Company's production of Sondheim's A Little Night Music, to her performance as soprano soloist in J.S. Bach's St. John Passion at the Festival of Perth.

Len Vorster

Len Vorster is one of Australia's finest accompanists and is artistic director of Classical Palette (a series of Naxos recordings devoted to contemporary music), of the Schirmer Ensemble, and of Port Fairy Spring Music Festival.

Press quote

“Any Scot worth his or her salt would cherish this CD”

— Margaret McNamara, 4MBS Program Guide

Track Listing

  1. Ye Banks and Braes Roger Quilter
  2. A red, red rose Esther Kahn
  3. Dearie H H Beach
  4. Polly Steward Ignaz Brüll
  5. Flow Gently Sweet Afton (Traditional)
  6. The Deil’s awa’ wi’ the Exciseman (Traditional)
  7. Wee Willie Gray Claire Liddell
  8. Will ye gang to the Hielands, Leezie Lindsay? Percy Grainger
  9. The Highland Balou Benjamin Britten
  10. Chanson Ecossaise Maurice Ravel
  11. Hochländisches Wiegenlied Robert Schumann
  12. Mo Nighean Dubh Percy Grainger
  13. The Bonny Earl o’ Murray Benjamin Britten
  14. Si mon amour André Gedalge
  15. Aye waukin, O! John Maxwell Geddes
  16. My Heart’s in the Highlands (Traditional)
  17. O were my love yon lilac fair! H H Beach
  18. Je dois partir André Gedalge
  19. Willie’s rare and Willie’s fair John Maxwell Geddes
  20. Ca’ the Yowes Benjamin Britten
  21. O gin I were where Gadie rins Percy Grainger
  22. Rien que soucis André Gedalge
  23. Ae Fond Kiss (Traditional)
  24. Far Awa’! H H Beach
  25. Comin’ thro’ the Rye Claire Liddell
  26. Bonnie Wee Thing Liza Lehmann



Percy Grainger

Percy Aldridge Grainger (1882-1961) is one of Australia's best known composers. A brilliant arranger of folk music but also a pioneer in percussion and electronic music, Grainger's Warriors was recently heard in the opening ceremony of the Sydney 2000 Olympics.

Benjamin Britten

Edward Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976) was an English composer, conductor, and pianist. Britten's operas are firmly established in the international repertoire. He has more operas played worldwide than any other composer born in the 20th century.

Maurice Ravel

Many consider Ravel as a major composer for the piano as well as a genius of orchestration. But it is always a surprise to discover how few works make up his total output for the instrument. All his compositions for piano can be performed in under two and one half hours.

Robert Schumann

Robert Schumann was a German composer, aesthete and influential music critic. He is regarded as one of the greatest and most representative composers of the Romantic era.

Where to buy

Burns and Beyond is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
September 2009
© 2009 Vivien Hamilton
℗ 2009 Move Records
Classical, Vocal
Catalogue number
MCD 420
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574042023