Digital booklet:  View · Download

Team of Pianists presents the Schimmel K 256

Music by Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Sain-Saens, Schumann, Gottschalk and Vine to demonstrate the new Schimmel K 256 concert grand.

The Team of Pianists has already eight commercial CDs, and now the ninth is Schimmel Artist Collection: Australia's renowned Team of Pianists presenting the new Schimmel Concert Grand Piano K 256.

The Team has the honour of this CD being the inaugural recording in Schimmel's Artist Collection series. The Team of Pianists comprises four principal partner-members; Max Cooke OAM, Darryl Coote, Robert Chamberlain and Rohan Murray. As Artists-in-Residence at Glenfern Estate in East St. Kilda, they conduct regular concerts including the summer Rigg Bequest
series Classic Music in Historic Venues during the summer, and the popular series Twilight Chamber Music at Rippon Lea in winter.

The new Schimmel K 256 Concert Grand Piano was shipped to Melbourne in August 2005, where it was unboxed and assembled in the warehouse of Bernies Music Land in Ringwood. This allowed the Team partners to rehearse and become familiar with the instrument's touch and character prior to recording in the studio. Agents for Schimmel pianos is Bernies Music Land, Ringwood, sponsors of the Team of Pianists, who made the production of this CD possible. Following delivery to the studios of Move Records in Eaglemont, the recording sessions took place in October 2005.

The selection of music comprises works for piano duet by Brahms, solos by Chopin, Debussy, Schumann, Gottschalk and Vine, which sit alongside the Saint-Saens' Sonata for clarinet and piano, Opus 167, which features guest clarinettist Craig Hill from the Melbourne Symphony.


Team of Pianists

Acclaimed both for its high standards of artistry and professionalism, the Melbourne-based Team of Pianists has captivated audiences in Australia and overseas for nearly twenty years.

Audio previews

Track Listing

    16 Waltzes for four hands Johannes Brahms

  1. No. 1 in B major Tempo giusto
  2. No. 2 in E major
  3. No. 3 in G♯ minor
  4. No. 4 in E minor Poco sostenuto
  5. No. 5 in E major Grazioso
  6. No. 6 in C♯ major Vivace
  7. No. 7 in C-sharp minor Poco più Andante
  8. No. 8 in B♭ major
  9. No. 9 in D minor
  10. No. 10 in G major
  11. No. 11 in B minor
  12. No. 12 in E major
  13. No. 13 in C major
  14. No. 14 in A minor
  15. No. 15 in A major
  16. No. 16 in D minor
  17. Étude Op. 10, No. 12 in C minor Frédéric Chopin
  18. Reflets dans l'eau Claude Debussy
  19. Sonata for clarinet and piano Op. 167 Camille Saint-Saëns

  20. Allegro
  21. Allegro animato
  22. Lento
  23. Molto Allegro
  24. Romance in F sharp major, Op. 28 No. 2 Robert Schumann
  25. The Banjo Louis Moreau Gottschalk
  26. Piano Sonata No.1 Carl Vine

  27. Movement 1
  28. Movement 2



Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) was a German composer and pianist, and one of the leading musicians of the Romantic period. In his lifetime, Brahms' popularity and influence were considerable; he is sometimes grouped with Johann Sebastian Bach and Ludwig van Beethoven as one of the Three Bs.

Frédéric Chopin

Frédéric François Chopin was a Polish composer, virtuoso pianist, and music teacher. He was one of the great masters of Romantic music and has been called "the poet of the piano".

Claude Debussy

Claude-Achille Debussy was a French composer. Along with Maurice Ravel, he was one of the most prominent figures working within the field of impressionist music, though he himself intensely disliked the term when applied to his compositions.

Robert Schumann

Robert Schumann was a German composer, aesthete and influential music critic. He is regarded as one of the greatest and most representative composers of the Romantic era.

Carl Vine

Carl Vine first came to prominence in Australia as a composer of music for dance, with over 20 dance scores to his credit. His catalogue now includes six symphonies, six concertos, music for film, television and theatre, electronic music and numerous chamber works.

Where to buy

Team of Pianists presents the Schimmel K 256 is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Team of Pianists presents the Schimmel K 256 is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
December 2005
© 2005 Team of Pianists
℗ 2005 Move Records
Classical, Keyboard
Catalogue number
MCD 301
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574030129