Digital booklet:  View · Download

Flowers Still Bloom

A full CD of compositions by guitarist Michelle Nelson. Michelle is joined on some tracks by harpist Megan Reeve and recorder player Will Hardy.


Michelle Nelson

Michelle Nelson is a composer, guitarist and creative educator committed to developing instrumental works that are contemporary but also draw inspiration from traditional composition practice.

Press quote

“Her compositional style is very accessible, mostly tonal and very well-written for the instruments she employs. The CD opens with two pieces for guitar and harp: Falling Ashes and Floating Free ... it is a delightful combination (of guitar and harp). Nelson’s Isolation Suite is a grouping of 8 related solo guitar pieces reflecting, as she puts it: ‘the rollercoaster of emotions and stress induced by the sudden loss of livelihood and social connection’. No doubt the lockdowns of the last two years will have inspired many other art works. Nelson’s response in this Isolation Suite is not all doom and gloom, with the second piece, Quietude, exploring the relief as the busy world slows and falls silent, and the fourth piece, Sunset Reflection, a jaunty finger-picking number. The seventh piece, Endure, expresses the frustration of lockdown with an incessantly repeated rhythmic figure, but the last: Flowers Still Bloom, is more hopeful ...”

Read full review

— Clive Lane, classikON

Track Listing

    Two Pieces for Harp and Guitar Michelle Nelson

  1. Falling Ashes
  2. Floating Free
  3. La despedida (The farewell) Michelle Nelson
  4. Short & Sweet: Three Pieces for Concert Ukulele Michelle Nelson

  5. Poco Allegro: expressivo e rubato
  6. Vivace: quasi waltz style
  7. Moderato: delicato e rubato
  8. Isolation Suite for solo guitar Michelle Nelson

  9. 1. Isolationist
  10. 2. Quietude
  11. 3. Steel Grey
  12. 4. Sunset Reflection
  13. Eight Bagatelles for Recorder and Guitar Michelle Nelson

  14. Allegro
  15. Poco allegro
  16. Giocoso
  17. Poco allegro e cantabile
  18. Piacevole
  19. Poco adagio
  20. Animato
  21. Allegro e sempre legato
  22. Isolation Suite for solo guitar Michelle Nelson

  23. 5. Rising Tensions
  24. 6. Anamnesis
  25. 7. Endure
  26. 8. Flowers Still Bloom


Where to buy

Flowers Still Bloom is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Spotify and Apple Music.

Flowers Still Bloom is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
July 2021
© 2021 Michelle Nelson
℗ 2021 Move Records
Australian, Classical
Catalogue number
MCD 621
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574062120