Hymns For All Seasons

16 more hymns from Cantus Choro, sung in the grand acoustic of St. Patrick's Cathedral, Melbourne. The hymns start with Advent and trace the great events of the Christian year. With Norman Kaye and the Melbourne Brass Ensemble.

The Melbourne Brass Ensemble plays some spectacular fanfares in five of the hymns. Includes 'O come, O come Emmanuel', 'Christ the Lord is risen today', 'For all the saints', 'O brother man', 'When I survey the wonderous cross' and 'The strife is o'er'.


Cantus Choro

Cantus Choro has established a fine reputation for its broadcasts for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and recitals of sacred and secular music. Directed by Peter Chapman, with Norman Kaye on the organ.

Press quote

“For those who like to hear their favourite hymns superbly sung [these] three volumes ... cannot be bettered.”

— Bruce Steele, Organo Pleno

Audio preview

Track Listing

  1. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (Anonymous) 3:59
  2. Of the Father's Love Begotten (Anonymous) 4:02
  3. Brightest and best of the sons of the morning Johann Sebastian Bach Bishop Reginald Heber 2:48
  4. Earth has many a noble city Prudentius 2:14
  5. Forty days and forty nights Francis Pott 2:34
  6. Lord Jesus, think on me Synesius 2:00
  7. Ride on, ride on in majesty Dean Milman 2:15
  8. When I survey the wonderous cross Isaac Watts 2:58
  9. The strife is o'er, the battle done (Anonymous) 3:09
  10. Christ the Lord is risen today Charles Wesley 1:42
  11. Hail the day that sees him rise Charles Wesley 3:32
  12. Come, o spirit from on high Stephen Langton 2:50
  13. Bright the vision that delighted Bishop Richard Mant 2:41
  14. O brother man, fold to thy heart thy brother John Greenleaf Whittier Alfred Ernest Floyd 2:45
  15. Let all the world in every corner sing George Herbert 1:39
  16. For all the saints who from their labours rest Bishop William Walsham How Ralph Vaughan Williams 3:57



Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Ralph Vaughan Williams was born on 12 October 1872 in Down Ampney, Gloucestershire, where his father, the Reverend Arthur Vaughan Williams (the surname Vaughan Williams is an unhyphenated double-barrelled name of Welsh origin), was vicar.

Where to buy

Hymns For All Seasons can be purchased online through Buywell Just Classical or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

This title is also available in (or can be ordered through) many fine music retailers across Australia, including Thomas’ and Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
45 minutes 5 seconds
Barry Firth
Martin Wright
Nicholas Alexander
Warwick Papst
St. Patrick's Cathedral
Release date
© 1986 Move Records
℗ 1987 Move Records
Catalogue number
MD 3062
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574306224