Digital booklet:  View · Download

The Spirit of the Lord

The Choir of St Paul's Cathedral, Melbourne presents music by Edward Elgar and Edward Barstow.

June Nixon who was director of music at St Paul's from 1973 until 2013.

“The musical tradition of St Paul’s must compare very favourably with anywhere in the Anglican world. As one who values services in the cathedral and the consistency of the standard of the music offered, this fine recording is a welcome addition.” Neville Chynoweth


June Nixon

One of Australia's best known organists, choir trainers and composers, June Nixon initially obtained Diploma of Music (piano) and Bachelor of Music (organ) from Melbourne University.

Track Listing

  1. The Spirit of the Lord Sir Edward Elgar
  2. O Salutaris Hostia Sir Edward Elgar

  3. No. 1
  4. No. 2
  5. No. 3
  6. Ecce Sacerdos Magnus Sir Edward Elgar
  7. Ave Verum Corpus Sir Edward Elgar
  8. Doubt not thy Father's care Edward Bairstow
  9. Blessed City Heavenly Salem Edward Bairstow
  10. The King of Love Edward Bairstow
  11. Jesu, Grant me this I pray Edward Bairstow
  12. I sat Down under His Shadow Edward Bairstow



Edward Bairstow

A British composer and organist, Bairstow was appointed Organist of York Minster in 1913, a post he held until his death in 1946.

Where to buy

The Spirit of the Lord is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

The Spirit of the Lord is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$20.00 AUD
Release date
© 1985 Move Records
℗ 1985 Move Records
Choral, Classical
Catalogue number
MD 3072
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574307221