re-sound has established itself as one of Australia's most progressive contemporary music ensembles. Its thought-provoking, challenging and dynamic performances explore the sounds of our time across a wide range of genres, styles, and performance contexts.

re-sound formed in Melbourne in 1996 with the intention of creating a performance platform for contemporary sound and music. As well as reinterpreting works of the 20th and 21st centuries, re-sound's collaborations with Melbourne sound artists, computer musicians and composers have generated a great deal of new local work.

Diverse cultures, aesthetics, media, techniques and technologies (hard and soft) crowd the current new-arts terrain, re-sound responds flexibly to this information-rich environment by engaging with and presenting sound in a number of contexts.

re-sound is featured on the following titles

Quiet on the Bridge

As with the group's previous recordings, this CD combines a range of contemporary styles and approaches, including electronic and electro-acoustic music, contemporary chamber and interactive computer music, indeterminate (open) works and improvisation.

Ephemeral Densities

ephemeral densities is re-sound's third CD. It focuses on new Australian work by re-sound members Steve Adam, Melanie Chilianis, Paul Moulatlet, and Thomas Reiner. It integrates contemporary chamber music, computer music and popular electronic music.

In C

Terry Riley's classic minimalist work In C receives its first electroacoustic interpretation by the Melbourne-based contemporary music ensemble.

The Flowers

This disc will reveal a new perspective on Australian music-making. All works on this recording are Australian compositions and all explore the aesthetics of contemporary art music.



re-sound's first and self titled CD features chamber works by 20th-century composers John Cage, Brendan Colbert, Paul Moulatlet, Ken Murray, Thomas Reiner, and Harvey Sollberger.

Members of re-sound

Thomas Reiner

Artistic Director of the ensemble re-sound, Thomas Reiner has received numerous awards for his compositions, including second prize in the International Witold Lutoslawski Composers' Competition for Two Movements for Orchestra, the Dorian Le Gallienne Award, and in 1995 the Albert H Maggs Composition Award.

Melanie Chilianis

Melanie is a flautist and composer working with electro-acoustic sound extension and conceptual mixes in performance and installation.

Paul Moulatlet

Paul Moulatlet is a Melbourne-based Australian composer whose works have been performed in England, Italy, Norway, the USA and numerous Australian events, including the Melbourne International Festival of the Arts, the Melbourne Fringe Festival, and Federation Music Week: Contemporary Music of Australia and the Asia Pacific.

Ken Murray

Ken Murray is a Melbourne-based guitarist and composer.