Digital booklet:  View · Download

ABC of American Art Song

Melanie Duncan blitzed the 1999 Mietta Song Recital Award, winning the Popular Choice award and the Musical Partnership with her accompanist Claire Cooper, in addition to the Award itself. This is her recital CD of 20th century American art song.

In her recital CD of 20th century American song her attractive coloratura voice highlights the beauty of Dominick Argento's "Six Elizabethan Songs", the vocal lyricism of Samuel Barber's French "Mèlodies Passagères" and the drama of Aaron Copland's "Twelve Poems of Emily Dickinson".

Melanie's performance of the Copland captivated the judging panel during the final recital of the Award.


Melanie Duncan

Melanie Duncan is a first-class Honours graduate of the Queensland Conservatorium of Music, and is currently completing a Masters at Monash University on a Monash Postgraduate Scholarship. She has been a semi-finalist in several competitions, including the 1997, 1998 Marianne Mathy Awards, and the 1998 Herald Sun Aria and Australian Youth Aria.

Audio previews

Track Listing

    Six Elizabethan Songs Dominick Argento Thomas Nash

  1. Spring
  2. Sleep
  3. Winter
  4. Dirge
  5. Diaphenia
  6. Hymn
  7. Mélodies passagères, Op. 27 Samuel Barber Rainer Maria Rilke

  8. Puisque tout passe
  9. Un cygne
  10. Tombeau dans un parc
  11. Le clocher chante
  12. Dèpart
  13. Twelve Poems of Emily Dickinson Aaron Copland Emily Dickinson

  14. Nature, the gentlest mother
  15. There came a wind like a bugle
  16. Why do they shut me out of Heaven!
  17. The world feels dusty
  18. Heart, we will forget him
  19. Dear March, come in!
  20. Sleep is supposed to be
  21. When they come back
  22. I felt a funeral in my brain
  23. I've heard an organ talk sometimes
  24. Going to Heaven!
  25. The chariot



Where to buy

ABC of American Art Song is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

ABC of American Art Song is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

Recorded at the Move Records Studio, Melbourne Australia.

List price
$25.00 AUD
Thomas Grubb
Thomas Grubb
Vaughan McAlley
Move Records Studio
Thanks to
City of Melbourne
Song Recital Award
Release date
© 1999 Move Records
℗ 1999 Move Records
Classical, Vocal
Catalogue number
MD 3212
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574321227