I Heard You Singing

This is Jonathan's first solo album. It contains many of his favourite songs from his favourite genre English art song.

This CD is subtitled "Songs my father taught me". Jonathan Morton sings A Shropshire Lad, songs of travel by Vaughn Williams, Hums of Pooh, and other English songs, accompanied on piano by David McSkimming.

Jonathan Morton describes the inspiration for this CD: "Dad took us camping to remote places where he would set up camp for us and then disappear during the daylight hours. Naturally, I thought these places were chosen to provide the best possible holidays. In fact, they were the homes of the rare species of butterflies that he loved to collect. My sister and I loved him to read to us: The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings, The Narnia books. Sometimes we’d play cricket. These were the best times. Or nearly the best. Occasionally, Dad would come swimming. That was the best. He played an excellent shark. He was funny at the pool; he has very delicate English feet and never walks barefoot.

"My final year of school, we bought a new house. It was a renovator’s delight. I chose the smallest room in the house, as it overlooked the garden. Mum is very good with gardens and I knew that when it stopped being a bomb site it would look a picture. The room was adjacent to the family room which housed the piano. This was the year Dad decided to get back into the German Lieder and English Art Song that he had loved at university. So I learnt many new songs while I studied chemistry and maths.

"Dad set me an example of intelligence, gentility, humour, patience, humility and kindness. He now lives in the country and loves to read, cook and retreat to the room affectionately named 'the buggery', where he sorts, sets and stores his bugs (mainly lepidoptera)."


Jonathan Morton

Jonathan Morton has a Bachelor of Science in chemistry, is an IT whiz and plays the didgeridoo. He performed with the VSO from 1988 and is a founding member of Pot-Pourri.

Press quote

“His singing is wonderful and I can highly recommend the disc which I am certain would have widespread appeal.”

— Inge Southcott, Music Forum Magazine

Track Listing

  1. A Shropshire Lad - G. Butterwoth & A.E. Housman Loveliest of Trees George Butterworth Alfred Edward Housman
  2. George Butterworth Alfred Edward Housman

  3. When I was One and Twenty
  4. Look not in my eyes
  5. Think no more, lad
  6. The lads in their hundreds
  7. Is my team ploughing?
  8. Songs of travel - R. Vaughan Williams & R. L. Stevenson The Vagabond Ralph Vaughan Williams Robert Louis Stevenson
  9. Ralph Vaughan Williams Robert Louis Stevenson

  10. Let beauty awake
  11. The roadside fire
  12. Youth and Love
  13. In Dreams
  14. The infinite Shining Heavens
  15. Whither Must I wander
  16. Bright is the Ring of Words
  17. I have trod the upward and the downward slope
  18. The Hums of Pooh - H. Fraser-Simpson & A.A. Milne Isn't it Funny Harold Fraser-Simpson A. A. Milne
  19. Harold Fraser-Simpson A. A. Milne

  20. How sweet to be a cloud
  21. Cottleston Pie
  22. The Cheers for Pooh
  23. The more it snows
  24. I lay on my chest
  25. Here lies a tree
  26. Christopher Robin is going
  27. Sea Feaver - J. Ireland & J. Masefield John Ireland John Masefield
  28. Now sleeps the crimson petal - R. Quilter & Lord Tennyson Roger Quilter Alfred Lord Tennyson
  29. The foggy foggy dew - B. Britten Benjamin Britten (Traditional)
  30. I heard you singing - E. Coates & H.R. Bennett Eric Coates H. R. Bennett



Ralph Vaughan Williams

Ralph Vaughan Williams was born on 12 October 1872 in Down Ampney, Gloucestershire, where his father, the Reverend Arthur Vaughan Williams (the surname Vaughan Williams is an unhyphenated double-barrelled name of Welsh origin), was vicar.

John Masefield

Kenneth Leighton (2 October 1929 - August 24, 1988) was an English composer and pianist. His compositions include Anglican church music, pieces for choir and piano, concertos, symphonies, chamber music and an opera. He wrote a well-known setting of the Coventry Carol. He was Reid Professor of Music in Edinburgh University.

Benjamin Britten

Edward Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976) was an English composer, conductor, and pianist. Britten's operas are firmly established in the international repertoire. He has more operas played worldwide than any other composer born in the 20th century.

Where to buy

I Heard You Singing is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
August 2012
© 2012 Jonathan Morton
℗ 2012 Jonathan Morton
Catalogue number
MCD 470
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574047028