Digital booklet:  View · Download

In Flight

Classical guitarist Harold Gretton presents a varied program of guitar pieces composed over the last 300 years. From the 18th century Sylvius Leopold Weiß to Harold Gretton's own collection of Australian bird-inspired pieces in the 21st century.

From the 18th Century Sylvius Leopold Weiß to Gretton's own collection of Australian bird-inspired pieces of the 21st century, classical guitarist Harold Gretton brings a diverse mix of masterpieces to life. His interpretive approach is founded as much on passion and imagination as on meticulous research, and is captured to perfection by engineer John Taylor in the unique acoustic of the Gothic church in Weston.

The album contains not only a varied palette of compositions, from classical and Latin favourites to world- premiere recordings, but also incredible watercolours by Penny Deacon, along with thorough historical and personal notations.


Harold Gretton

Harold Gretton began playing guitar at the age of 7. He has won numerous national and international competitions, and been awarded many prizes, performing widely across Europe, North America, Asia and Australia.

Track Listing

  1. Introduction, Theme and Variations on “O cara armonia” from the Magic Flute, op.9 Fernando Sor
  2. Fantaisie Hongroise op.65 Johann Kaspar Mertz
  3. The Prince’s Toys Nikita Koshkin

  4. i. The mischievous prince
  5. II. The mechanical monkey
  6. III The doll with the blinking eyes
  7. IV. Tin soldiers
  8. V. The prince’s coach
  9. Three works in D Sylvius Leopold Weiss

  10. Fuga
  11. Passacaille
  12. Caprice
  13. Flock Harold Gretton

  14. I. Currawong
  15. II. Magpie
  16. III. Blue Wren
  17. IV. Galah
  18. V. Rainbow Lorikeet
  19. Danza Brasilera Jorge Morel
  20. La Negra Antonio Lauro
  21. Estrellita Manuel Ponce
  22. La Muerte del Angel Ástor Piazzolla
  23. Inarticulate Music Harold Gretton



Where to buy

In Flight is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

In Flight is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
December 202
© 2022 Harold Gretton
℗ 2022 Move Records
Catalogue number
MCD 627
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574062724