Digital booklet:  View · Download

Australian Songs

This recording is a comprehensive collection of the vocal music of Richard Peter Maddox. It bears the impramatur of the composer (playing the Australian-designed Stuart & Sons piano), and he is joined by his talented brother Graham Maddox on oboe and Sydney-based vocalist, Samantha Smith.

Something for lovers of fine vocal music and Australian music alike!

This hauntingly beautiful disc features premiere recordings of Maddox's Four Songs for Soprano, the Four Archaic Songs, Letters from Armidale (text by Mary Buck), The Stranger in my Skin (text by Bruce Dawe) and his suite of five well-known Australian folksongs.


Richard Peter Maddox

Richard Peter Maddox was born in Apia, Western Samoa, and grew up in Sydney, N.S.W. He completed a Bachelor of Commerce degree at the University of New South Wales in 1962. Following a number of years working as a company accountant and controller, he decided to leave the world of commerce, pursuing his musical studies at the Universities of London, Sydney, UCLA and New England.

Press quote

“a fine example of modern songwriting.”

— Kim Lockwood, Herald Sun

Audio preview

Track Listing

  1. The Pear Tree Richard Peter Maddox Dame Mary Gilmore
  2. Bargain Basement Richard Peter Maddox Frederick T. Macartney
  3. Sleight-of-hand Richard Peter Maddox Bruce Dawe
  4. Sonnet XVIII Richard Peter Maddox William Shakespeare
  5. In Praise of Art Richard Peter Maddox Michelangelo Buonarotti
  6. To Saint Mary Magdalen Richard Peter Maddox Henry Constable
  7. A Prayer to the Holy Trinity Richard Peter Maddox Richard Stanyhurst
  8. Blow, blow thou winter winde Richard Peter Maddox William Shakespeare
  9. Botany Bay Richard Peter Maddox (Traditional)
  10. Moreton Bay Richard Peter Maddox (Traditional)
  11. Click Go the Shears Richard Peter Maddox (Traditional)
  12. The Streets of Forbes Richard Peter Maddox (Traditional)
  13. Waltzing Matilda Richard Peter Maddox (Traditional)
  14. Lovely Day Richard Peter Maddox Mary Buck
  15. Figs Richard Peter Maddox Mary Buck
  16. Letters Richard Peter Maddox Mary Buck
  17. News Flashes Richard Peter Maddox Mary Buck
  18. Rain Richard Peter Maddox Mary Buck
  19. Stranger Richard Peter Maddox Bruce Dawe
  20. Looking Down from Bridges Richard Peter Maddox Bruce Dawe
  21. The Swimming-Pool Richard Peter Maddox Bruce Dawe
  22. Bedroom Conversations Richard Peter Maddox Bruce Dawe
  23. A Peasant Idyll Richard Peter Maddox Bruce Dawe



Where to buy

Australian Songs is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Apple Music.

Australian Songs is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
© 2000 Move Records
℗ 2000 Move Records
Australian, Classical, Vocal
Catalogue number
MD 3227
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574322729