Digital booklet:  View · Download

Sun Fun and other Disappointments: The music of Michael Easton

This compilation CD brings together the wide range of British/Australian composer Michael Easton’s compositional output (1981-1993) - ranging from solo piano and duo pianos to a flute sonata, a piccolo concerto, song cycles, and four songs from Easton’s one-woman show ‘Dorothy Parker Says’.

Michael Easton was not only a composer and pianist, but also a music critic, pre-concert speaker, lecturer, and founder, with Len Vorster, of the Port Fairy Spring Music Festival.

This CD title was inspired by poems of British poet laureate John Betjeman. The song-cycle based on these poems are beautifully interpreted by Kathleen Southall-Casey.

This year 2024 commemorates Michael Easton’s 70th year, and also 20 years since his death in 2004. The re-release of this CD also pays tribute to soprano Kathleen Southall-Casey (1961-2024).

The performers are pianists Len Vorster, Michael Easton and Rebecca Chambers - Kathleen Southall-Casey (soprano), Ian Cousins (baritone), Australian actress Deidre Rubenstein (vocals), Frederick Shade (piccolo), Richard Thurlby (flute), and Brett Kelly conducting the Academy of Melbourne.


Michael Easton

Michael Easton's music reflects his own ebullience, energy and good humor. It is entirely accessible - reliant upon ear-catching melodies, piquant harmonies, and brilliant orchestration.

Len Vorster

Len Vorster is one of Australia's finest accompanists and is artistic director of Classical Palette (a series of Naxos recordings devoted to contemporary music), of the Schirmer Ensemble, and of Port Fairy Spring Music Festival.

Track Listing

    Moods for Piano Michael Easton

  1. In Reflective Mood
  2. High Spirits
  3. Alone and Lonely
  4. Practical Jokes
  5. Deux Chansons pour L'Arrière-Saison Michael Easton

  6. Colloque Sentimentale
  7. Dans le Bois
  8. Cocktail Suite Michael Easton

  9. Whiskey Sour Waltz
  10. Martini Melody
  11. Schneider Cup Charleston
  12. Sun Fun and other Disappointments Michael Easton

  13. Song of s Night-Club Proprietress
  14. Harvest Hymn
  15. In a Bath Tea-Shop
  16. How to Get On in Society
  17. Flute Sonata Michael Easton

  18. Allegro Maliziso
  19. Nocturne: Andante Cantabile
  20. Finale: Presto
  21. How Pleasant to Know Mr Lear Michael Easton

  22. There was an Old Man who said Hush
  23. Old man of the Hague
  24. Old Man of Whitehaven
  25. Mrs Jaypher
  26. How Pleasant to Know Mr Lear
  27. Conversations for Piano Michael Easton
  28. Piccolo Concerto Michael Easton

  29. Allegro
  30. Andante con moto
  31. Rondo
  32. Dorothy Parker Says Michael Easton

  33. General Review
  34. Song of Perfect Propriety
  35. Fulfillment
  36. But not Forgotten


Where to buy

Sun Fun and other Disappointments: The music of Michael Easton is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Release date
March 2024
© 2004 Len Vorster
℗ 2024 Move Records
Catalogue number
MCD 657
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314570465727