Digital booklet:  View · Download

The Film Music of George Dreyfus, Volume 2

Move Records once again mines Screensound Australia's archive to showcase the wonderful film music of George Dreyfus, including the premiere release of the unused score to the Bruce Beresford feature Tender Mercies (1982).

From the poignant music of John West in Power Without Glory (1976) to the multicultural mix of Waterfront (1983), Move Records is proud to present the second in its ongoing series of George Dreyfus film music CDs. Film music collectors will be particularly interested in the premiere appearance of Dreyfus' short score to the award-winning Bruce Beresford film Tender Mercies (starring Robert Duvall) which was ultimately replaced by silence. It has not been heard for nearly twenty years, and you won't find it on the anniversary DVD re-issue of the film - only here!

With twenty-two tracks in all, you'll not only hear music from the above films but also for A Descant for Gossips (1983), Outbreak of Love (1980), Great Expectations (1986) and, of course, another version of the theme from Rush (1974), here performed by renowned flautist James Galway.


George Dreyfus

One of Australia's best known composers, especially the theme from the TV series "Rush", George Dreyfus was recently awarded a the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany at the Victorian Parliament House, for services to music.

Press quotes

“Just why the Dreyfus Tender Mercies music was relegated to the cutting room floor shall only remain in Bruce Bereford's head ... But this track is worth the price of the CD alone. 9/10 stars.”

Read full review

Australian Soundtracks

“most interesting ... appealing enough in its own right”

— Jim Murphy, The Age - Green Guide

“a most welcome CD”

New Classics, UK

“a perfect example of the versatility of Dreyfus' work”

— Chris Copas, The Examiner

“an interesting selection ... colourful, evocative ... melodious music.”

— Ian Lace, MusicWeb UK

“excellent quality and variety ... very informative cover notes.”

— Cliff Tucker, Radio Freemantle

Audio previews

Track Listing

    A Descant for Gossips George Dreyfus

  1. Main theme 2:20
  2. Love duet 6:08
  3. Innocence for childhood 3:38
  4. Tender Mercies George Dreyfus 10:30
  5. Outbreak of Love Main theme George Dreyfus 4:31
  6. Waterfront George Dreyfus

  7. Main theme and song 3:26
  8. Unity march 1:25
  9. Solitude 2:12
  10. Vaudeville 1:21
  11. Anna's theme 4:18
  12. Doomed 3:13
  13. Anna's theme reprise 2:57
  14. Power without Glory The Death of John West George Dreyfus 6:03
  15. Great Expectations George Dreyfus

  16. I gave my love an apple 5:38
  17. Bold Jack Donahue 2:20
  18. Spring song 2:36
  19. Bold Jack Donahue reprise 1:52
  20. Bridget's theme 4:20
  21. Good fortune 2:18
  22. Villains 1:17
  23. Fire and rebirth 4:00
  24. Rush [Flute Version] George Dreyfus 2:55


Where to buy

The Film Music of George Dreyfus, Volume 2 is available for download from the iTunes Music Store.
It's available for streaming through Spotify and Apple Music.

The Film Music of George Dreyfus, Volume 2 is available as as CD. It can be purchased online through Buywell Music or the Australian Music Centre which both offer secure online ordering.

Move CDs can be ordered through music retailers across Australia including Readings.

Product details

List price
$25.00 AUD
Total playing time
79 minutes 18 seconds
Release date
© 2002 Move Records
℗ 2002 Move Records
Australian, Orchestral, Soundtrack
Catalogue number
MD 3238
Alternate catalogue number
EAN 9314574323825